Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Chant of Thoth

Chant of Thoth

Chant of Thoth

Type: Event Faction: Yog-Sothoth
Cost: 1
Game Text:
Action: Choose up to 3 Spell or Artifact cards in your discard pile. Until the end of the phase you may play those cards as though you were playing them from your hand. If any of the chosen cards are event cards, put them on the bottom of your deck instead of your discard pile after playing them.
Set: SoA
Number: 35
Illustrator: Scott Keating


Question: if I choose Summon Spectral Hunter and play it on a character with zero skill, can I then play it again once it returns to the discard pile? I guess so, right? Otherwise, the card would have similar wording as it does for events.
Jan 27 2016 02:10 PM

I think not. There is this hard to parse quote from the FAQ: "A card that moves from an in-play zone to an out-of-play zone to an in-play zone or from an out-of-play zone to another out-of-play zone is treated as though it were a new card.
Any effects connected to the card will no longer affect it."

Now there is are exception regarding effects doing the moves or triggering from the moves, but that would certainly not apply to retain this effect on the Summon Spectral Hunter when its leaving play.


So I think the Summon Spectral Hunter that goes back to the graveyard is to be consider a different instance of the same card, and no longer has the Chant of Thoth effect on it.

    • Carthoris likes this

Thanks, Richard Plunkett.  I'll just have to go back to Marcus Jamburg or Elder Scavenger Thing to get my Summon Spectral Hunter recursion. :)

Yes, agreed.


The action begins with "Choose up to 3 ... cards in your discard pile." You can't choose the "future" Spectral Hunter that hasn't yet been returned to the discard.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.