Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

A Voros Hal'l Jon

A Voros Hal'l Jon

A Voros Hal'l Jon

Prophecy of the Lost
Type: Event Faction: Miskatonic University
Cost: 1
Game Text:
Play during any player's draw phase.
Action: Place this card face up on your deck.
Response: After a [Miskatonic University] character you control is destroyed, discard A Voros Hal'l Jon from the top of your deck to search your deck for 2 cards and add them to your hand. Then, shuffle your deck.
Set: SoK
Number: 29
Illustrator: Winona Nelson


Best tutor in the game. AKA the combo-finder.

Question regarding this card


College prospect dies from a combat struggle or wound removal effect(kopesh)


will the prophecy fetch trigger first? or do i draw 2 cards(including the prophecy) and then fetch 2 cards?


The situation happened when Roald Ellsworth got killed by kopesh while the Prophecy was in play.


Wasnt sure which one triggers first, the prophecy or the card draw? I understand Ellsworth is a disrupt effect and the college prospect is a forced response.

Jan 08 2015 10:39 AM

FAQ page 18, both effects are triggered by College Prospect leaving play - Forced Responses trigger before Responses when they both want to happen simultaneously, so you must use College Prospect's Forced Response first, then your opponent has a Response option, then you have the option to trigger the Response on A Voros Hal'l Jon.


Same thing for Ellsworth, his Disrupt takes precedence as it happens before he leaves play, once he's left play, you can then trigger the Response on the prophecy.

So in other words, you cannot trigger the prophecy because you would draw it with either of the effects before it can trigger?

Jan 08 2015 04:52 PM

Ah yes, I forget that when a Prophecy goes on top of the deck it counts as the first card.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.