Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Hanyatl's 1:9

Hanyatl's 1:9

Hanyatl's 1:9

"The young shall replace the old."
Type: Event Faction: Silver Twilight
Cost: 0
Game Text:
Play during any player's draw phase.
Action: Place this card face up on your deck.
Response: After a character is put into play through a card effect, discard Hanyatl's 1:9 from the top of your deck to destroy a support card.
Special Attribute: Steadfast - Silver Twilight x1
Set: SoK
Number: 50
Illustrator: Dan Masso


The Dormant keyword is considered a card effect, right?  Hanyatl's 1:9 doesn't specify that it has to be a triggered effect, so I assume Dormant would count.

Jun 30 2016 01:12 PM

Sorry, I am leaning against you here.


Dormant:: "When that story is won, you may play that card reducing its cost to 0."


While I agree that it is a card effect, I think there is a rules difference between "play" a card and "put into play" a card (see faq section 2.24). If Hanyatl had said "after a character enters play due to a card effect", then you would have been set, since that catches both puts and plays, but with just puts, I don't think it notices the thing Dormant lets you do.

    • Danigral, Carthoris and Track8 like this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.