Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

James "Cookie" Fredericks

James "Cookie" Fredericks

James "Cookie" Fredericks

Controversial Explorer
Type: Character Faction: Miskatonic University
Cost: 3 Skill: 2 Icons: (C)(I)
Game Text:
Explorer. Investigator.
Explorer characters gain Fast.
Response: After an Explorer character you control enters play and any opponent has more cards in hand than you, draw 3 cards. Then choose and discard 2 cards from your hand.
Set: SoK
Number: 8
Illustrator: Scott McSorley


Still wrapping my head around some rules again. Does this guys ability triggers for him, when he enters play?

Jan 04 2015 11:52 AM

Yes, a response can be triggered after the completion of whatever triggers it.  So, Fredericks comes into play, then you have an opportunity to trigger Responses, and he is an Explorer so you can use his Response. Your opponent would then have a chance to use a Response that he has which could be triggered, then back to you until you both pass consecutively.  Then you go on to your next Action or continue to the next phase.


For comparison, if his Response had been 'after an Explorer character you control LEAVES play', you could not use his Response in response to him leaving play, as first he leaves play - then when that process has completed, he is no longer in play so his text is not available to be used.  Had it been a Disrupt it would work on him leaving play.


Page 18 of the FAQ covers Responses, as well as Disrupts etc. Should be noted that a Response is optional so you could choose not to trigger it if you wish (say you would be decked if you did or similar) - unlikely, but possible.

    • doenerone likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.