Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Por XV 14:19

Por XV 14:19

Por XV 14:19

"... drowned upon the altar..."
Type: Event Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 0
Game Text:
Play during any player's draw phase.
Action: Place this card face up on your deck.
Response: After a character is sacrificed, discard Por XV 14:19 from the top of your deck to add the top 2 cards of your discard pile to 2 different domains.
Special Attribute: Steadfast - Cthulhu x1
Set: SoK
Number: 44
Illustrator: Jesse Mead


Probably the best resource acceleration that isn't in the Shub faction.
It's good, but actually requires some thought since its from the discard and not the deck. If you want to ramp on turn one you'd better have sac offering and a cheap character or double removal in hand to get full value out of this. Of course, if you pair up with something like Yog, filling your graveyard shouldn't be a problem.
FAQ/Errata 3.0

Sac offering is wound, not sac

Why is this card restricted again? requires a long setup for it to work even if it wasnt.

To stop it being an easy choice for Temple decks basically.

Does Gustav Johansen disrupt the effect? After a cultist leaves play draw 1 card (forced respone). Does that mean you just draw your prophecy back into your hand?

Disrupt isn't the right term to use as that is an actual timing, but as Forced Response happens before Response, yes Gustav would cause you to draw this back, thus being a waste.

Wouldn't this card be one of the resources? Discarded, then top 2 cards are resources.

Por XV 14:19 won't be 1 of the resources, actually.  It's a tricky part of the rules, but here's how it works in a nutshell:


Por XV's response criteria is met and you choose to trigger the card's effect.  Por XV now targets the top 2 cards of your discard pile (it's still revealed on top of your deck at this point so it can't select itself as 1 of the 2 cards to be resourced).


Why?  This happens before it's discarded because you always select targets first and then you pay the cost, which in this case is discarding Por XV.


It's confusing because the card text tells you to discard Por XV to do something, so it seems like you should discard it first before doing whatever it wants you to do.  Just know that whenever a card reads "do X to do Y" you pick your targets (Y) and then pay the cost (X) to do something to those targeted cards.  Por XV can't pick itself as a target because it's in the wrong place at the time target selection takes place.  See the FAQ 4.0 Timing Structure section on pages 19-20 for an in-depth look at the action window.


Also, this question was asked and answered in the Frequently Asked Questions section on page 27 of the FAQ.  It's about the Hamu XX 15:14 prophecy but it works the same way here.

    • NuFenix and Draconav like this
Mariner doesn't trigger this Response since the sacrifice comes at end of phase. Anyone disagree because I'm hoping I'm wrong here.
    • RichardPlunkett likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.