Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* - - - -

Howard Ludvinski

Howard Ludvinski

Howard Ludvinski

Visiting Artist
Type: Character Faction: Miskatonic University
Cost: 4 Skill: 3 Icons: (C)(I)(I)
Game Text:
Action: Trigger a non-conspiracy story card in your won story pile. Shuffle it back into the story deck before its effect resolves.
Flavor Text: I know too much. If anything happens to me, check locker 202 at the bus station.
Set: TAD
Number: 43
Illustrator: Henning Ludvigsen


Feb 18 2017 01:42 AM

If I'm reading this right, the story card's effects still resolve, after the card goes back into the story deck right.

This would mean you use his ability to sacrifice one of your own story cards for the sake of enacting it's effect?

Correct. It would be an awful ability if the story effect never resolved. You would never trigger it. It's not often you'd use the ability as it is unless your strategy is decking your opponent.
    • RichardPlunkett likes this
Feb 21 2017 11:15 PM

Story effects have generally gotten weaker with time and as such, this card has become increasingly unplayable.

Mar 08 2017 07:05 AM

Track8, what do you mean "decking" your opponent? I'm pretty new to the game.

Even looking at the original story cards, nothing really jumps out at me as a really great combo with this guy.

Decking means depleting your opponent's deck to the point that he loses the game.  If that's your main strategy, then you don't really care about trading in your won story cards for big effects.  You're not planning to win by the conventional "3 story" strategy anyway.  Decking your opponent isn't usually the preferred strategy though, so in most cases I agree that Howard's ability seems cost-prohibitive. 


Welcome to Call of Cthulhu, by the way!

Mar 10 2017 05:27 AM

As a matter of rules, If at any point a player has no cards remaining in their deck, they are immediately eliminated from the game. (see draw phase description).


This is a somewhat uncommon victory method but does prevent games ending in a stalemate of some kind. And some proportion of decks/strategies actively attempt to make the opponent lose this way, rather than winning by the various other ways.

This strategy is also called 'milling' by some people, especially with a MtG background.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.