Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Brain Transplant

Brain Transplant

Brain Transplant

Type: Event Faction: Hastur
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Action: Choose an insane character and a ready character controlled by the same player. The ready character goes insane, if able. Then, restore and ready the targeted insane character.
Set: TPtY
Number: 111
Illustrator: Tony Shasteen


(1.8) Eligible Targets
In order to target a card with an effect,
that card must meet the targeting
requirements. Any part of the effect for
which that character is ineligible is simply
For example, with Brain Transplant
(Summons of the Deep F111) you may
target one insane character and one
ready character who are both controlled
by the same player, as per the targeting
requirement. If the ready character has
Willpower or a T icon, it is ineligible
for the second part of the card’s effect
(“The ready character goes insane,
if able”), so that part of the effect is

But "Then" still keeps other character insane as the first one didnt go insane... i really cant think of worse way to put it in the FAQ.
"Then", as used in card abilities, is shorthand for "if the previous effect was executed in full, then" (do something). It's less wordy than including the "if . . . then" statement in full, but I agree, it's not perfectly intuitive.

Overall, though, it's a confusing card. We could do with fewer cards like this.
I think the faq makes this card more confusing. Without this entry i wouldnt even try to restore character after firs one didnt go insane. After reading this i thought there is something worth noting here so maybe it works... i guess it doesn't but they didn't write it explicitly...

My understanding is that the "if able" means that so long as the card is going insane *if it can*, then you are sufficiently fulfilling the requirement. If it can't go insane, it's still "going insane if able".

    • RichardPlunkett likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.