Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Literature Professor

Literature Professor

Literature Professor

Type: Character Faction: Miskatonic University
Cost: 2 Skill: 1 Icons: (A)(I)
Game Text:
While every card you control has the [Miskatonic University] faction, Literature Professor gains: "Disrupt: After you win a story card, you may search the story deck to choose the next story card (from the story deck) to come into the game. (Shuffle the story deck when you are done.)"
Flavor Text: He seemed to think everything was a story-even life. Even death.
Set: TTftS
Number: 83
Illustrator: Federico Piatti


I assume that, if I were to win a conspiracy, I could still trigger the LP's Disrupt ability to select the next story that would come into play.  The story I select just won't come into play until a non-conspiracy story is won, right?

Aug 22 2016 03:14 AM

I think the answer is no. I concede you may be free to search the story deck, for a story of your choice, but what happens to it? You can't bring it into play, and if you leave it on top of the deck, it basically fails due to the next clause: (shuffle the story deck when you are done). If that said "shuffle the rest of the story deck", I could see an argument for the card being left on top, but as it is, I think the effect basically fizzles down to a usually meaningless shuffle of the story deck.


Also, the triggered condition, "after you win a story", as a disrupt means you need to either use it right then, or you lose the window of opportunity, so I think there is no way to postpone the activation until later on when it might do something useful.


Finally, it may be the effect itself can't even trigger. Since it requires you to "choose the next story card" and at that stage there really isn't a "next story card", it may be blocked by the lack of a valid target.

    • Carthoris and Track8 like this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.