Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Church Operative

  • Julepe likes this

Church Operative

Church Operative

Type: Character Faction: The Agency
Cost: 2 Skill: 2 Icons: (A)(I)
Game Text:
While it is Day, each opponent must discard a card from his hand in order to target an [Agency] character you control.
Flavor Text: "Evil has come to this world, the time to repent is now!"
Set: TiV
Number: 3
Illustrator: Cristina Vela


I've got two questions about this card:

1. If you have two of these in play, does that mean your opponent has to discard two cards to target one of your Agency cards?

2. Let's say you have all Agency cards and have have a Church Operative in play, and your opponent has Temple of R'lyeh. Does he have to discard a card when he sacrifices a cultist? Or is that requirement waived since he's not targeting a specific card?

1. I don't believe so. The character creates a global condition which isn't cumulative. 2. This is a tougher one. My tendency would be to say that the player is targeted, not the character, but there were some weird rulings concerning when a character is actually targeted. Hopefully someone else will chime in.
Jul 21 2016 01:43 PM

Busta, your answer to (1) seems plausible but counter-intuitive, can you provide any references?


Meanwhile, for (2), the Temple of R'lyeh card definitely doesn't interact with Church Operative's ability.

Temple of R'lyeh:: Action: Sacrifice a [Cthulhu] character to choose an opponent. That opponent must sacrifice a character he controls.


In Cthulhu, things are only targeted if the keyword "choose" has been used for selecting that thing. Temple of R'lyeh targets a player because it says "choose an opponent". That player then sacrifices one of his characters but isn't told to choose it first, so that isn't a targeting process/effect.

(and even if a hypothetical different version directed you to choose and sacrifice a character, it would still be you choosing it, not your opponent, so Church operative would still not apply).

I believe that Busta is correct is his assertion that two Church Operatives don't require 2 discards.  


I thought I remembered a discussion around Pervasive Toxemia (which I can't seem to find) that indicated that only one wound was required when both players had a Toxemia in play.  If I could find that reference, I believe a strong case could be made that this situation is the same.

Jul 23 2016 02:02 AM

Thanks tdnordine, I do remember that one wound from two Toxemia's thing now and it seems an excellent parallel to this.

    • pscamp01 likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.