Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Claude Owen

Claude Owen

Claude Owen

Trying to Conquer Death
Type: Character Faction: Yog-Sothoth
Cost: 3 Skill: 3 Icons: (C)(A)(A)(A)
Game Text:
Avatar. Scientist.
Action: Pay 3 to choose 1 character in each player's discard pile. Put those characters into play under your control. At the end of the phase, if a chosen character is still in play, return it to its owner's control. (Limit once per turn.)
Flavor Text: "Playing God you say? I have recreated life from its essential salts! I am God!"
Set: TKatG
Number: 2
Illustrator: Romain Leguay


is this guy errate? he seems bonkers good!
I agree, Claude is huge. I haven't played him yet, though.

Will this stunt work?


Claude does his stunt during his opponent's story phase, bringing out heavy characters from both discard piles, and committing them for unstoppable defense. Now here's the trick: The player also has Prepared Alienist, exhausted from his own previous turn, and so not preventing Claude's action. BUT he wins the arcane struggle while defending and readies the Prepared Alienist before the end of the story phase.


Is the opponent's revived character (let's say, for grins,  a discarded Clifton Rosenberg) under the control of Claude's player as long as he can keep Prepared Alienist ready? I seem to recall some fine point in the FAQ about distinguishing between "change control" and "return to owner's control."

No. It is indeed in the FAQ:


My opponent takes control of one of my characters through a card effect. Then I play Prepared Alienist (The Key and the Gate F38). At the end of the turn the effect that stole my character ends, what happens to that character?


That character returns to your control. Prepared Alienist only prevents characters from changing control, not returning to their owner’s control.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.