Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Decrepit Wizard



Decrepit Wizard

Decrepit Wizard



Type: Character Faction: Yog-Sothoth
Cost: 3 Skill: 4 Icons: (A)(A)(A)
Game Text:
Cultist. Sorcerer.
Fated 3.
Disrupt: Discard a resource on a domain to cancel an effect just triggered that targets a character you control. Then, place a success token on Decrepit Wizard.
Flavor Text: Happy is the town at night whose wizards are all ashes.
Set: TKatG
Number: 13
Illustrator: Michel Koch


5 Comments

This has to be a domain you control as you can't use opponents cards to pay costs, right?

It does not say it has to be your domain. Other cards that do not say it has to be your cards allow you to chose. No difference here.

Photo
TwoShedsJackson
Jan 11 2015 02:09 PM

There is a difference, the bit before the 'to' is a cost, and costs can only be paid with cards you control. You don't control your opponent's cards which are being used as resources so you can't discard them to pay this cost.  Page 12/13 of the FAQ.

Von Wibble is right.

 

According to section 2.13 of the FAQ, "Costs are any resources paid in order to play a card, as well as anything before the β€œto” part of a card ability," so discarding a resource is a cost of using Decrepit Wizard's ability. 2.13 goes on to say that "You may only pay costs with cards you control," so no, you don't get to choose your opponent's resources.

    • WWDrakey likes this

Okay so if you have this guy in a deck with Curse of the Putrid Husk and the Festival, you can put the Curse on him so that he loses the Fated keyword and can thus accumulate infinite success tokens. This gives you one free cancellation per turn indefinitely, assuming you discard the Festival.


Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.