Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* - - - -




Type: Support Faction: Yog-Sothoth
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Attach to a non-Ancient One character.
Action: Place a Yithian character you control on the bottom of its owner's deck to take control of attached character until the end of the turn.
Set: TKatG
Number: 19
Illustrator: Brian Valenzuela


Could you use a Yithian in your discard pile to pay the cost of this card? Are cards in your discard pile cards that "you control"?

i don't think so...the discard pile is an out of play area and only effects that specifically say in a players discard pile can affect those cards

    • RichardPlunkett likes this
Sep 03 2015 05:21 AM

"You may only pay costs with cards you control."

I believe you can only control cards that are in play, but while the rules explicitly says that "When a card comes into play, it does so under the control of its owner", I couldn't find anything that explicitly denies control of cards after they leave play.

However, this line does implicitly deny it: "If the card changes state from out-of-play to in-play, from in-play to out-of-play, or from one out-of play area to another, then the game considers it to be a new instance of that card". This line wold means its forgotten its control history, along with every else cards forget (which is good, or we would have to track how things got to the discard pile and that would be a nightmare.)


So, cards that are not in play, don't have a controller, they aren't in your control, and can't be used to pay these costs.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.