Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Prepared Alienist
Submitted
Darksbane
, May 15 2013 02:40 AM | Last updated May 15 2013 02:40 AM
![]() Prepared AlienistType: Character Faction: Neutral Cost: 2 Skill: 2 Icons: (A)(I) Game Text: Scientist. Independent. Toughness +1. While Prepared Alienist is ready, characters cannot change control or be put into play through triggered effects. Flavor Text: "They can only reach us through angles. We must eliminate all angles from this room. I do not believe they can reach me, but I must beware." Set: TKatG Number: 38 Illustrator: Kelly Hensing |
Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.
7 Comments
If Prepared Alienist (TKatG) is ready when the Dormant card From the Depths (tSb) (Action: Reveal the top 5 cards of your deck and put all characters revealed into play. Return all other cards to the top of your deck in the same order.) is triggered, do the Charekters from the effect came into play or not?
No, it's part of a triggered effect so Prepared Alienist would prevent this.
If you take control of another character for a set duration (say the end of the phase) while Prepared Alienist is exhausted and the Prepared Alienist is readied before you have to return that character does he stop the charater being returned?
No, from the FAQ:
"Prepared Alienist only prevents characters from changing control, not returning to their owner’s control."
Does anyone have a recommendation on how to use PA? I'm currently using him in a mono-MU deck that uses Tomes. I want to keep him ready, so he can shut out Black Dog and Master of the Myths, but I kind of want to make use of his Investigation icon too. Is it just a case-by-case decision on which way to use him?
Back in the day there were some MU/Hastur pure shutdown decks that would use Museum Curator and then all the shutdown imaginable (70 steps, flux stabilizer, arkham asylum +lunatics, etc). Prepared Alienist was pretty good in that deck