Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Summon Spectral Hunter

Summon Spectral Hunter

Summon Spectral Hunter

Type: Support Faction: Yog-Sothoth
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Attachment. Spell.
Play only if it is not Day. Attach to a non-Ancient One character.
Attached character gets -1 skill for each success token on it, and it is destroyed if its skill is 0.
Forced Response: After the beginning of its owner's turn, place a success token on attached character.
Set: TKatG
Number: 30
Illustrator: Johannes Holm


What happen if a Fate 3, skill 3 character with this card attached and it has placed 3 success tokens on it?

Oct 29 2015 03:22 AM

The destroy effect is a conditional passive effect.


The Fated rule seems to also be worded as a conditional passive effect.

Fated rule: When a card with the Fated X keyword has X or more success tokens on it, place that card on the bottom of its owner’s deck.


From the FAQ:

When card effects, passive abilities, or forced responses would resolve simultaneously, all cards that are affected resolve in the order determined by the active player, one at a time.


So in the asked situation, both passive's conditional's are met simultaneously when the 3rd success token is added, so the active player chooses which applies first, ie whether the card is destroyed or placed on the bottom of the draw pile.

Are the success tokens universal, or would each effect have its own pile of success tokens?

Oct 31 2015 01:56 AM

Success tokens are success tokens.

You only get separate piles if you they are on separate cards.


Had they wanted separate piles, this card could have been designed to stacked the tokens on itself, and then the interaction with Fated characters would have been different, but I think (given the expansion this came in) that getting rid of Fated cards faster was an intended effect.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.