Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Catacombes de Paris

Catacombes de Paris

Catacombes de Paris

Illuminated Labyrinth
Type: Support Faction: Hastur
Cost: 1
Game Text:
You may choose to not refresh Catacombs de Paris during your refresh phase.
Response: After an opponent’s character is destroyed, exhaust Catacombs de Paris to put that character into play insane under your control. While Catacombs de Paris is exhausted that character remains under your control.
Set: The Mark of Madness
Number: 21
Illustrator: Preston Stone


Finally a new way to steal characters ! Yes !

Hastur is not famous for its aptness at destroying strong characters - but if you can pull it off, no other restrictions to make it yours permanently.

Locations are fragile nowadays, but still this is a 4/5. (btw FFG, if you're going to have the title in french, take 5s and use any online translator to do it right...)

If the character i want to steal has Terror icons and cannot go Insane, how is this handled?
Feb 16 2016 01:23 PM

This is a response to destruction, so the destruction effect has resolved and the target card is notionally in the discard pile.

We know from other cards (eg Dikes of Ys) that things that can't go insane, can still enter play insane. Since the card you are taking over is entering play rather than just switching control, it matches well with the Dikes of Ys behavior and thus we know that it can enter play in the insane state, regardless of (T)/willpower.

    • Carthoris likes this

If they destroy catacombs, or it gets refreshed, does the character return to their control, in play?

May 12 2016 08:43 AM

Yes it stays in play. There are a couple of control-while-attached cards, and I believe this resembles that, and that on their removal the character's implicitly returns to the owner's control (which will usually, but not necessarily, be your opponent's).

    • Carthoris likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.