Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Drawing the Sign

Drawing the Sign

Drawing the Sign

Mark of Madness
Type: Support Faction: Hastur
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Forced Response: After an opponent loses a (T) struggle, place a success token on Drawing the Sign.
Action: If Drawing the Sign has 8 success tokens on it, sacrifice it and choose a story. You win that story.
Set: The Mark of Madness
Number: 25
Illustrator: Andreas Zafiratos


I think when this is used you should have to arrange the success tokens in the shape of the sign.

This seems like it will be quick to trigger - if you use it with the 4 terror struggle conspiracy then 2 turns is possible.

As pointed out by VonWibble, with the right conspiracies out, this can be a major threat.

Magical Theorist with a couple of tomes around (King in Yellow folio, for even more terror struggles) can also pump tokens on it in no time, and ST Carl Stanford will fetch it from your discard pile right after for another round.

Wait, it that the basis of a Hastur/ST deck with an alternate win condition ? For that alone, deserves 4/5 :)))

The wording suggests to me that you can't just win the terror struggle. Your opponent has to be at the story in order to lose the struggle, correct?

I was going to pair this up with The Door That Will Not Close in order to make my opponent pay for not committing to said conspiracy, but I don't think it works the way I'm wanting.

Your opponent does not have to be at the story. From the FAQ:



FAQ 4.1

(3.3) Winning an Icon Struggle
It is possible for a player to win an icon struggle even when his opponent has committed no characters, or characters with that icon, to the struggle. For example, a player would win a @ struggle if he had committed any characters with one or more @ icons and his opponent had committed no characters.

    • RichardPlunkett likes this

Thing is, Drawing the Sign doesn't refer to "winning" the struggle, quite the contrary, actually. And since the wording of the new Hastur is "When you win a T struggle", I think this differentiation is quite deliberate and I wouldn't put tokens on Drawing the Sign if I go unopposed.

Dec 07 2015 12:52 AM

Kwakkie is correct. Your opponent does not need to turn up for you to gain success tokens with this card. If you win a struggle, your opponent loses it. As a language issue, the game tends (unreliably) to use "win" for beneficial effects and "lose" for detrimental ones, but every struggle that isn't tied has a winner and a loser.

    • Daevar likes this
Thank you, Richard. Insightful, as always.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.