Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Jean-Jacques Minot

Jean-Jacques Minot

Jean-Jacques Minot

Obsessive Tactician
Type: Character Faction: The Agency
Cost: 3 Skill: 4 Icons: (C) (C) (I) (I)
Game Text:
Jean-Jacques Minot enters play insane.
Response: After Jean-Jacques Minot is restored, ready him. Then, each opponent must wound a character he controls as an additional cost to trigger an effect, until the end of the turn.
Flavor Text: “I must find a away to prevent it…no matter the cost!”
Set: The Mark of Madness
Number: 39
Illustrator: Simon Dominic


Seems very powerful...until the opponent plays out August and uses it to threaten wiping out your board if you trigger it ;)

Another way for Agency to block tricks and allow pure struggle superiority to prevail.

Among the "positive insanity" characters from this box, he's just average though. 3/5.

Anyone have any idea how this card works with your opponent's Forced Responses?  Forced Responses don't typically have costs, so this card would create an atypical situation.  I know you can't force an opponent to pay a cost, but this seems like one of those Golden Rule situations described in the rulebook where cards can create exceptions to the rules.  


It's easy if the opponent doesn't have anyone to wound - obviously, the Forced Response couldn't trigger.  But if the opponent has the ability to wound, would a Forced Response require him to take the wound and proceed as normal?  My guess is yes, but this seems like it creates one of those "unstoppable force, immovable object" dilemmas.  You're either forcing the opponent to pay a cost, or you're saying a Forced Response doesn't have to trigger when its condition is met.

Mar 06 2016 02:38 AM

Forced responses aren't triggered by the owner/controller of the card, they are triggered by the game. So this card would have no impact.


FAQ 4.2: Section 1.11) A Forced Response must trigger, if able, and is not considered a player triggered effect, but is instead a card triggered effect triggered by the game state that is resolved by the player who controls the card.

    • Carthoris and Track8 like this

Where is the flavor text from? Is this a separate printing?

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.