Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Call for Backup

Call for Backup

Call for Backup

Type: Event Faction: The Agency
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Action: Exhaust a character you control to put into play from your hand an Agency character with printed cost 3 or lower. Return that character to your hand at the end of the phase.
Set: TOotST
Number: 2
Illustrator: Ignacio Lazcano


Not exactly awesome, but it could deliver a decent surprise. Worth having in a deck that leverages Tactics.

The best thing about this card is the flavor text....

    • Carthoris likes this

If you want an unrestricted jumper, they're getting scarce.

So this card is not bad by any stretch...the issue is there's not a lot of great Agency 3's to get with this. Mainly you'd be getting someone with enough combat to turn the math in your favor, but no strong enter play abilities in Agency. Nice combo with Naomi O'Bannion where you exhaust her to play it, then ready her to use again (it's a Tactic) to really flip the odds in your favor.

Too expensive and too restrictive. Compare it to 'Night Class': http://www.cardgamed...y_52_117416.jpg


It's less expensive and less restrictive. The subtype (Tactics) might help to make it more playable, though.

Using the Claret Knight to pay the cost is nice, as he readies straight away.

Can you pay the cost with Claret Knight?  I thought he was immune to triggered effects?

Yeah, I don't think that works.

I don't see why you couldn't. Claret Knight is immune to triggered effects and this wouldn't be a triggered effect exactly. You're choosing him to pay a cost for a triggered effect. I think that flies?

I could be wrong, but in past rulings it's seemed to me that he is immune to anything that happens as part of a triggered effect.  Best ask Damon for a definitive answer though.

Exhausting Claret Knight will definitely work. It's a cost, not an effect. Otherwise you couldn't exhaust him to commit to a story, either!

    • VonWibble likes this

Exhausting to commit to stories is a framework action, not a triggered effect.  I'm still uncertain about this.  Time to email FFG I guess.

I thought there was a distinct difference between paying costs and triggered effects too.

You guys may be right, my grasp of the rules is dodgy at best.  I emailed FFG and I'm awaiting their response.


EDIT:  Confirmed by Damon that you can pay card costs with Claret Knight.

    • NuFenix likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.