Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* - - - -

Failed Initiate



Failed Initiate

Failed Initiate



Type: Character Faction: Silver Twilight
Cost: 1 Skill: 1 Icons: (A)(I)
Game Text:
Cultist.
Forced Response: After an event card is played, sacrifice Failed Initiate.
Flavor Text: During rituals, mistakes have dire consequences.
Set: TOotST
Number: 31
Illustrator: Tom Garden


3 Comments

I have a Failed Initiate on the table.  I play Por XV 14:19.  When does the Forced Response of the Failed Initiate occur?  

 

I'm thinking the event is played, the Action of the event is resolved (putting the Por atop my deck), the Failed Initiate is sacrificed, and then the Response of the Por occurs.  At least, that's what I'm hoping.  

 

I know Forced Responses trigger and resolve before Actions and Responses, but it seems like the Action of Por is part of the event's resolution.  After the event has resolved, including the Action of the event, then Passive Effects, Forced Responses, etc. trigger (such as on Failed Initiate).

 

Ditto this question with Calling the Darkness.  I assume I can drive Failed Initiate insane as part of the CtD before the Failed Initiate's sacrifice triggers (in fact, by the time the Failed Initiate's sacrifice would be triggered, Mister Failed Initiate is already insane, so the sacrifice never triggers).  Again, these are all my assumptions.  Does anyone disagree with my interpretations here?  

    • RichardPlunkett likes this
Photo
RichardPlunkett
Dec 16 2015 08:49 PM

The Failed Initiate and Por XV work well together.

Forced Responses occur after the relevant trigger resolves (in this case after the Action of the Por XV - placing it on the draw pile). The Initiate is thus sacrificed.

The prophecy is in place to have its Response triggered. Note that the Initiate is in the discard pile, and on top, so it will be one of the cards retrieved by Por XV.

It is all very tidy.

These two cards can go off very early in the game for some nice resource acceleration, the biggest problem might be getting a second card into your discard pile in time, to maximize the benefit.

 

I also agree with your CtD interpretation, clearly the initiate is insane before the Forced Response could trigger, thus it does not.

How'd I know you were going to be the one to come through, RP?  :)

 

You the man.  Thanks, bro.


Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.