Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Rich Widow

Rich Widow

Rich Widow

Type: Character Faction: Silver Twilight
Cost: 1 Skill: 1 Icons:
Game Text:
Response: After a character leaves play, put Rich Widow into play.
Flavor Text: She looked at others with disdain, if at all.
Set: PT
Number: 33
Illustrator: Felicia Cano


Out-of-phase deployment, 1/1, and no icons: this dame looks tailor-made for sacrifice.

Where can she trigger her Response from?


Hand and / or discardpile?

What do you guys think? How do you play this card?

Hand. Cards only trigger from the discard if they state they do.

Hand. Cards only trigger from the discard if they state they do.

Well, the same rule also holds true for triggering effects from your hand. Rich Widow's ability (as printed) doesn't specify that it can be triggered from your hand and therefore doesn't do anything at all. Kinda epitomic of FFG's struggles with rule templates and proofreading.


Fortunately, they addressed the issue in the FAQ and added "from your hand" to the card's text. Now it works as intended.

That is what I said, no?

Your statement implied that Rich Widow's effect (without erratum) can be triggered from its controller's hand, which is not the case.

I don't think it did. The OP asked where it could trigger from, I said Hand. Where did I imply this was without the erratum? You always use the erratum when defining what a card does.

Well, it's obvious what you were trying to say if the reader knows the FAQ entry. Anyway, no need to argue about such trivialities.

oh, wow. There is an errata for this card. Indeed. I missed this ...somehow... :(

This makes it very clear. Thanks guys.

Can she be triggered from returning to your hand due to HOST's effect for example?

Yes. That makes her ideal for actions that demand a character return to hand to pay for a desired effect.

    • RichardPlunkett likes this

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.