Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Somnambulant Dreamer

Somnambulant Dreamer

Somnambulant Dreamer

Type: Character Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 2 Skill: 2 Icons: (C)
Game Text:
Dreamer. Lunatic.
Action: Drive Somnambulant Dreamer insane to choose and wound an exhausted character with skill 2 or lower.
Flavor Text: "I don't know what happened, officer. I remember falling asleep..."
Special Attribute: Steadfast - Hastur x1
Set: TWC
Number: 103
Illustrator: Grzegorz Rutkowski


Am I correct in thinking that the Somnambulant Dreamer can kill insane characters (assuming the target is in an exhausted state)?
May 04 2017 07:16 AM

Sadly not. From the FAQ(section 2.10)::

Insane characters are neither ready nor exhausted when turned facedown, regardless of whether they are upright or 90 degrees sideways, and cannot be readied (or exhausted) until they are first restored.


So while they have 0-skill they can't meet the exhausted requirement.

What about Diseased Sewer Rats instead of the SD? Only requirement is skill of 2 or less, so that would work, right?
May 04 2017 12:34 PM

Yes, diseased Sewer Rats work. There are a small number of cards that consult "printed skill", which for an insane character is indeterminate but for purposes, Rats included, they appear to be a zero skill character.

    • Track8 likes this

Cool, thanks.  The Rats were the main inspiration for my question, but I thought I'd show a little love to the Dreamer since he hadn't gotten any comments before.  I hadn't anticipated the "exhausted" condition being a problem, but I'm glad it came up because I hadn't thought of that being an issue.

May 05 2017 05:27 AM

It's a little weird because the original rules clearly envision an insane character being able to be exhausted or ready (check out the rules refresh text), but it provides no way of tracking the state since there is a fixed orientation for insane. They had to fix this, either by making two orientation's allowed and meaningful or removing the question for insane characters. They settled on the later, making the game a three-state system, instead of the four-state system I think the original authors were thinking of.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.