Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

7 Thomas Street

7 Thomas Street

7 Thomas Street

The Fleur-de-Lys Building
Type: Support Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Players must pay 1 as an additional cost to play an event card. Each player may ignore this effect if he controls 2 or more Cultist characters.
Flavor Text: Under the very shadow of the finest Georgian steeple in America, I found him at work in his rooms.
Set: The Sleeper Below
Number: 026
Illustrator: Tommy Arnold


So "pay 1 as an additional cost" means that beyond whatever other costs the player is paying, including draining a domain for non-zero cost events, they're draining an additional domain to pay 1?

I do not believe that is correct.


The requirement is simply that you may pay an additional 1 - it doesn't matter where that additional 1 comes from. So, for example, if you have an event that costs 2, you could drain a single domain with 3 resources attached to pay the additional cost.

Neither of you are right; from the FAQ, section 2.15:


If a card states you must pay an
additional cost that cost is added to any
current costs of that card or effect. If
the additional cost is “pay 1” any card
with a cost paid by draining a domain
must increase the number of resources
by 1. If the card effect does not include
a cost that involves draining a domain
already on it, you must now drain a
domain with at least 1 resource on it.
So you have to have a domain with one more resource than you would normally require:  if you were playing Power Drain you couldn't drain a two domain and a one domain at the same time, you would have to drain a three domain. If you were playing zero cost event, you would have to drain a domain.

So it is. Makes me wish they'd chosen the phrasing "increase the cost," like on Lodge Defenses, which reads more plainly to me.

The perfect home for a Failed Initiate.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.