Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Aurora Borealis

Aurora Borealis

Aurora Borealis

Type: Event Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 0
Game Text:
Action: Ignore the resource match requirement of the next character card you play this phase.
Flavor Text: “The mammoth curtain of scintillating colors parted as we braced ourselves in fearful anticipation...” – Final log entry of the Starkweather-Moore expedition.
Set: The Sleeper Below
Number: 028
Illustrator: Michal Milkowski


BRAVO! I couldn't resist passing on to the designers, fantastic flavor from the title down to the exceptional flavor text! Too bad not all cards receive such attention. Now to build a deck worthy of it's extraordinary aspect?

Nov 11 2014 07:29 AM

I guess you like the card then :D

Mar 10 2015 08:32 PM

How does this care work? Is it 0 cost and you can play like a character of any cost from your hand?

No, you can play a character ignoring the resource match (a.k.a. the "at least one card of the same faction in the domain you drain to pay for the character" requirement). You still must have the number of resources equal to the cost of the card.

Does this include ignoring "loyal" requirements?


For instance I have a domain with three resources, two Cthulhu and one Yog. Assuming I have already paid for Aurora Borealis using another domain, I now want to put Ardois-Bonnot into play using said domain.


Is this OK given Ardois is 3 Hastur loyal?

That's a tough one, but my guess is no. I think Loyal and Steadfast still apply. Otherwise, I would think the text would say "ignore ALL resource match requirements."
    • RichardPlunkett likes this
Jan 14 2016 01:38 PM

Sorry, no granting Loyal matches. This essentially got answered by the Archmage Attache FAQ.

Basically things that grant a resource match, grant a Loyal match too, by default.

But sadly things that let you ignore a resource match - like this card, don't by default let you ignore a Loyal Match.

Neither helps you with Steadfast

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.