Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

From the Depths

From the Depths

From the Depths

Type: Event Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 6
Game Text:
Action: Reveal the top 5 cards of your deck and put all characters revealed into play. Return all other cards to the top of your deck in the same order.
Set: The Sleeper Below
Number: 034
Illustrator: Rachel Haupt


What happens when you play this and one of the 5 cards you turn over is a unique card you already have out? Does it go on top of your deck or get discarded?

Oct 21 2015 11:01 PM

Discarded I would think. Same issue comes up in a number of other places.

I encountered this exact dilemma in a game with this card.  We ruled that it would just go back to the top of the deck along with all of the revealed non-characters.  Our reasoning was unless another card, From the Depths in this case, tells you to put a card somewhere else, you should just leave it where it is.  I may be wrong, but discarding a duplicate of a unique character seems as arbitrary as adding it to your hand, removing it from the game, or putting it into play under your opponent's control.  Just because it's been revealed doesn't indicate to me that it can't just stay where it is.  My two cents.

In my house this would go to the top of your deck as an unplayable card.

I agree, it would go back on top of the deck because you can't play it and nothing tells it to go anywhere else.  Remember, revealed cards haven't actually left your deck.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.