Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Kassogtha



Kassogtha

Kassogtha


Leviathan of Disease
Type: Character Faction: Cthulhu
Cost: 7 Skill: 7 Icons: (T)(T)(C)(A)(A)
Game Text:
Ancient One.
Villainous. Invulnerability.
When you play Kassogtha, you may sacrifice X Cultist characters to lower Kassogtha’s cost by X.
Forced Response: After you play Kassogtha, choose 1 character, 1 support card, and 1 conspiracy, if able. Destroy all chosen cards.
Set: The Sleeper Below
Number: 018
Illustrator: Anthony Devine


12 Comments

When I sacrifice a bunch of cultists, say 3, and one of them is Gustaf, do I draw 0, 1 or 3 cards?

We werent sure if Gustaf even triggers at all since we are using him to pay for a cost reduction, so was already dead when Kassogtha came into play.

0, for the reason you said - By the time his Forced Response would be able to trigger, Gustaf is no longer in play and as it isn't a self-referential ability he couldn't trigger it.

And if you sacrifice 2 cultists or more and you keep Gustaf in play, you will draw only one card because there are only one window open for response?

It's one window, but you are free to respond to one window with multiple responses (as long as they are triggered by distinct cards, and this is the case here because there are two different cultists leaving play in your example).

What if you sacrifice 3 cultists, but 1 of them is Seeker of Mysteries?  Does Kassogtha cost 3 or 4?

 

I believe it would be cost 3 as you apply any active modifiers/reducers to the cost (step D in the action window) before you actually pay the cost.  Therefore, Seeker of Mysteries would still be in play to reduce Kassogtha with her passive ability, and then she would reduce it again (for being a cultist) when you sacrificed her.

    • Danigral likes this

I concur Yipe for the exact reasoning you gave.

 

EDIT: Confirmation from FFG

Seeker of Mysteries would be able to lower the cost and then be sacrificed with the other cultists.

 
Damon Stone
LCG Developer
    • Danigral and Yipe like this

There was a debate involving Kassogtha while I was playing tonight. If it comes into play as the result of a card effect, do you still get to destroy the character, support and conspiracy cards? Or are you unable since you didn't pay for the card?

There was a debate involving Kassogtha while I was playing tonight. If it comes into play as the result of a card effect, do you still get to destroy the character, support and conspiracy cards? Or are you unable since you didn't pay for the card?

 

You can't. You didn't "play" the card. If wording was that the effect occurs when Kassogtha "Enters play", then it would be different.

    • pscamp01 likes this

For a more complete explanation, see 2.24 in the FAQ "Put into Play" vs "Play" vs "enters Play"

    • pscamp01 likes this
If there is a character and a support card in play, but there are no conspiracies, do I still get to destroy the character and the support?
Photo
RichardPlunkett
Jan 02 2016 01:18 AM

A good question and I think the answer should be yes.

 

If it said just "After you play Kassogtha, choose 1 character, 1 support card, and 1 conspiracy. Destroy them." Then you would need to find one of each type to be allowed to use the ability.

 

Thus it comes down to the "if able" bit.

If we read this as "(choose 1 character, 1 support card, and 1 conspiracy) if able", then it's still a choose three or zero situation, so we haven't actually changed the effect at all, making the "if able" redundant, which I dislike as an option.

 

So I would have to conclude that the "if able" applies to each of the three cases, ie choose 1 character(if able), 1 support card(if able), and 1 conspiracy(if able).

 

This interpretation also fits marginally better with the wording of the last sentence, and as a bonus makes the effect usable instead of almost useless.

For what it is worth, I agree with RichardPlunkett. It is the only interpretation that makes the card playable.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.