Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Put to the Sword



  • Type: Event
  • Faction: Neutral
  • Cost: 2
  • Reaction: After you win a [Military] challenge by 5 or more STR as the attacking player, choose and kill a character controlled by the losing opponent. (Max 1 per challenge.)
  • Quantity: 1
  • Number: 41
  • Illustrator: Allan Bednar
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


11 Comments

Noob question: is this played before or after claim?

 

I understand that according to the DUCK rule for challenge resolution, you determine winner before claim. So therefore this should be played before? Or maybe the player has a longer window, and can choose to play it before or after?

Photo
PatrickHaynes
Oct 24 2015 01:37 AM

Your guess is correct, Put to the Sword must be played during the window for responses to the "D" step of challenge resolution.

Noob question: is this played before or after claim?

 

I understand that according to the DUCK rule for challenge resolution, you determine winner before claim. So therefore this should be played before? Or maybe the player has a longer window, and can choose to play it before or after?

 

Pardon my ignorance, but what does "DUCK" stand for?  This is the second place I've seen it this morning.

Thanks!

Photo
TwoShedsJackson
Oct 28 2015 11:39 AM

Declare Winner

Unopposed

Claim

Keywords

 

Handy way to remember the order of the steps.

    • SerVance likes this

I also find it useful to add this information:

 

Declare winner

(reactions to winning, or to winning by a certain amount of strength. Reactions to losing.)

Unopposed

(Reactions to winning/losing unopposed. Reactions to claiming the power for unopposed)

Claim

(Reactions to whatever the claim was: characters dying, discarding cards, winning/losing power)

Keywords

(Reactions to keywords: claiming power for renown, discarding cards for pillage, etc.)

 

I know it might seem obvious to many, but I think it's helpful to point it out.

    • SerVance likes this

I also find it useful to add this information:

Declare winner
(reactions to winning, or to winning by a certain amount of strength. Reactions to losing.)
Unopposed
(Reactions to winning/losing unopposed. Reactions to claiming the power for unopposed)
Claim
(Reactions to whatever the claim was: characters dying, discarding cards, winning/losing power)
Keywords
(Reactions to keywords: claiming power for renown, discarding cards for pillage, etc.)

I know it might seem obvious to many, but I think it's helpful to point it out.


Clarification: Reactions to winning unopposed are in step D, determine winner. The str/win/opposed status of the challenge is set here.

Only a reaction to gaining bonus power would happen in U (unopposed). None currently exist.
    • SerVance likes this

Clarification: Reactions to winning unopposed are in step D, determine winner. The str/win/opposed status of the challenge is set here.

Only a reaction to gaining bonus power would happen in U (unopposed). None currently exist.

 

Ok thanks for that, didn't know it. 

Awesome, thanks!

Seeing the above, does that mean that, if I put the (eventual, only) defending character to the sword as a reaction to the "D" phase, I will get the unopposed for it?

Seeing the above, does that mean that, if I put the (eventual, only) defending character to the sword as a reaction to the "D" phase, I will get the unopposed for it?

 

No. You determine if the challange goes unopposed or not in the Declare the winner step, before reactions to winning or losing can be triggered (D). After that, you get to resolve said reactions, but they can't alter the resolution of the challange (how many strenght did you win/lose for, who won/lost, if it was unopposed or not, etc.).

    • ArinRahl likes this

No. You determine if the challange goes unopposed or not in the Declare the winner step, before reactions to winning or losing can be triggered (D). After that, you get to resolve said reactions, but they can't alter the resolution of the challange (how many strenght did you win/lose for, who won/lost, if it was unopposed or not, etc.).

 

ok, thx for the clarification :)