Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Roose Bolton

  • Type: Character
  • Faction: Stark
  • Cost: 6
  • Icons: MilitaryIntrigue
  • Strength: 4
  • Ally. House Bolton. Lord.
  • Reaction: After you win a challenge in which Roose Bolton is attacking, choose up to X total STR worth of characters controlled by the losing opponent. X is Roose Bolton’s STR. Sacrifice Roose Bolton to kill each of those characters.
  • “Fear is what keeps a man alive in this world of treachery and deceit.”
  • Quantity: 1
  • Number: 81
  • Illustrator: David Auden Nash
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


I admit I'm still confused by the Winterfell discussion. So: if I cancel Roose with Treachery, is he still sacrificed or not?

Sacrifice is a cost, Treachery cancels only the effect. So yes he is sacrificed and treachery cancels his kill effect.

Good. So the magic word here is 'then'. If Rose would be "Sacrifice Roose Bolton,then kill each of those characters.", then treachery would result in Roose not being sacrificed, correct?
    • Toper likes this

The magic word here is " to ". "Do X to do Y" is the format in which costs are written, and costs (X) are paid in full before effects (Y) initiate.


Effects could be worded in many ways:

- Sacrifice Roose. Then, kill...

- Sacrifice Roose. Kill...

- Sacrifice Roose and kill...

These would all be prevented by Treachery.


These would all be prevented by Treachery.


And Roose will be sacrificed.


Btw Rules Reference specifically singles out the word "Then" so maybe that was the reasoning of Palpa to bring it out. Maybe a tip for next FAQ...

With the current wording, Roose will be sacrificed before Treachery can even be played, yes. With any of my suggested wordings, he wouldn't be sacrificed if his ability would get cancelled.


I doubt FFG will add this to the FAQ. They only add issues that are not clear enough from reading the RRG. This matter is non-ambiguous.