Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Bronn



  • Type: Character
  • Faction: Lannister
  • Cost: 1
  • Icons: Military
  • Strength: 5
  • Mercenary.
  • During a challenge in which you are the defending player, Bronn gains a [Military], an [Intrigue], and a [Power] icon.
    Marshaling Action: Pay 1 gold to take control of Bronn. Any player may initiate this ability.
  • Quantity:
  • Number: 89
  • Illustrator: Romain Leguay
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


26 Comments

I really like the idea and theme of this card, and it will be fun to play. Great!

I would be ok with Bronn if he had been a 2 coster. Tywin didn't need the extra help for setups.

Also it feels weird Lannisters are getting one of the best defenders the game currently has while defending is not one of their themes. But like someone else said "Lannisters have everything".

    • jaquen likes this

Does Bronn start each turn under the control of the player who controlled him the previous turn?

 

And in the turn he is marshalled, is he under the control of the marshalling player by default? Or does that player have to pay for him too?

Does Bronn start each turn under the control of the player who controlled him the previous turn?

 

And in the turn he is marshalled, is he under the control of the marshalling player by default? Or does that player have to pay for him too?

 

He will stay under control of the player who paid him last and he will start working for the player who put him into play (just like any other character).

What would happen if 2 players try to pay him at the same time, will thelast one to pay get his support?

So in the end it will come to a bidding contest each marshalling phase and whoever runs out of money last will have my services during the rest of the round?

    • SlaaneshDevotee and MaShiKai like this

So in the end it will come to a bidding contest each marshalling phase and whoever runs out of money last will have my services during the rest of the round?

Jap. Will be fun to be combined with Brothel Madame, Paid Off etc.

What would happen if 2 players try to pay him at the same time, will thelast one to pay get his support?


Technically, they can't try to pay for him at the same time. It is a (marshalling) action, so would be done during any action window in that phase. Once a player has done an action, their opponent can do an action of their own (eg buy him back). Same effect in the end as you describe however.

I think this is really good in Lanni main. You should have enough gold to ensure that it isn't worth your opponent buying him. With Tyrion and other challenge money (eg Brothel Madame, Paid Off) you should still be able to afford your own ambushes/events even in a bidding war. Your opponent meanwhile has the option of bidding war and no events or letting you have a 5 str for 1 cost guy. It should also be noted that even if your opponent plans to buy him then Milk him, you have an action window between these actions to buy him back. He increases my chances of a Tywin + chud + econ setup.

In a house like Greyjoy or Stark bannering to Lanni, not sold. Both have decent enough mil to begin with, and both needs to hang onto their gold.

I'd also be very wary of playing him when facing Lanni, unless they played their out that turn (if both are on the board neither player can buy them). That stops me wanting more than 1 copy, and means he gets 4/5 from me rather than 5.

Anyone thinking the drawback is too costly should look up a similar card called Sslyth Mercenary in Conquest. Reviewers didn't like it - turns out they got it wrong and its amazing.

Honestly, I hate to be that guy but...he seems really overpowered in Lannister.

 

He shores up Lannister's weak points while his downside plays straight to their strengths...I love the card from a thematic standpoint but he seems a little much as we can pretty safely figure that Lannister is almost always in a better gold position than whomever they're facing across the table. 

 

Each turn he's either a 1-cost super defender or a drain on your opponents gold reserve. Nasty. 

I'm not sure if anyone has mentioned this yet, but I love how, on defense, Bronn has two military icons and his art has him holding two swords. So even if he loses a military icon (i.e. a sword), he still has another.

    • Palpa likes this

What happens in the following case:

 

I have my own Bronn.

My opponent has their own Bronn.

I wish to pay to take the opponent's Bronn.

 

Can I take him?

 

And if so, is he discarded from play (as he's a second unique Bronn?)

or does he become a Duplicate of my Bronn?

or do I now have 2 Bronns?

 

This all feels really weird to me, no matter which of those options it is.

"Any player may initiate this ability" leaves this one wide open. Also, in Melee, there could be 3 or more different Bronns on the table.

Rules Reference page 22 under Unique Cards: A player cannot take control of a unique card if he or she already controls or owns an in-play copy of that card.

 

So no, you can't take him

Good to know that's cleared up. I thought there'd be all kinds of issues with it.

Probably overthinking but how does Bronn work with Blood Magic Ritual? I'm assuming that when he's saved he stays controlled by whoever controlled him last but I can see people claiming that he reverts to original owner on save or to the player playing BMR.

When BMR was played nobody paid gold (or had the option to) to take him. So whoever controls Bronn when BMR is triggered keeps him.
    • LoneElfRanger likes this

If Bronn is duped, does whoever paid him last get control of Bronn + dupes? Just want to check if the dupes should go to discard pile instead.

Photo
LoneElfRanger
May 11 2016 01:57 AM

Dupes stay, but the owner of the duplicates control whether or not to use it.

Photo
TalkToTheWall
May 11 2016 08:47 AM

Dupes stay, but the owner of the duplicates control whether or not to use it.

 

Same goes for attachments?

Photo
LoneElfRanger
May 11 2016 03:57 PM

Same goes for attachments?

Correct.

Dupes stay, but the owner of the duplicates control whether or not to use it.



But the rules say that a duplicate gives the controller of a character the interrupt to save not the owner of the duplicates. So unlike attachments duplicate control should go to the characters controller

But the rules say that a duplicate gives the controller of a character the interrupt to save not the owner of the duplicates. So unlike attachments duplicate control should go to the characters controller

 

The rules do not say that. The rules say that the controller of the duplicate gains the ability to save the duped character.

Photo
Mbutler132000
May 13 2016 02:42 AM

What happens if you pay for Bronn and throw a milk on him, if you are the opposing player.  So player 1 marshals Bronn, and then player 2 during their marshalling phase buys him.  Player 2 throws a milk on him, as Milk does not say play on an opposing card.  I presume this means that Bronn now belongs to player 2.  Player 1 could play another Bronn but that would put separate Bronns on the board.  Also, I guess Player 1 could pay for Bronn and then throw a Milk on him.  Could be pretty good during setup. 

Photo
LoneElfRanger
May 13 2016 02:58 AM

Yes, if someone Milks Bronn, he belongs to the player who last paid for him. The original player may not re-play a Bronn if an opposing players controls him, as a Unique card he owns by that title is already in play. 

What happens if you pay for Bronn and throw a milk on him, if you are the opposing player.  So player 1 marshals Bronn, and then player 2 during their marshalling phase buys him.  Player 2 throws a milk on him, as Milk does not say play on an opposing card.  I presume this means that Bronn now belongs to player 2.  Player 1 could play another Bronn but that would put separate Bronns on the board.  Also, I guess Player 1 could pay for Bronn and then throw a Milk on him.  Could be pretty good during setup. 

I wouldn't use the term "belongs" as it has no meaning in this game.  In the case you mention Bronn is still owned by player 1 but controlled by player 2.  Therefore as a unique card is still in play that is owned by player 1, he cannot play a second copy.

The rules do not say that. The rules say that the controller of the duplicate gains the ability to save the duped character.


Same end result. The controller not owner can trigger it.