Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Mance Rayder

  • Type: Character
  • Faction: Neutral
  • Cost: 7
  • Icons: MilitaryIntriguePower
  • Strength: 5
  • King. Wildling.
  • Renown.
    Wildling character in your hand gains ambush (X). X is that card’s printed cost.
    While there is a
    Winter plot card revealed, reduce the cost to ambush each of your Wildling characters by 1.
  • Quantity: 1
  • Number: 39
  • Illustrator: Joshua Cairós
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


Works well against First Snow if you have a bunch of wildlings, can be boosted with Wilding Horde too. Costly to bring to the table but a big tricon with renown is nothing to sneeze at. The cost reduction during winter is just frosting on the cake ;) Trying this guy in a Tyrell/Stag for maximum cost reduction with Renly and the sweet Arbor money.

Using Mance and Renly for cost reduction seems an awful lot like selling your car so you afford to buy gasoline.

Isn't there yet, but with some more wildlings and the King of Winter agenda I will give Stark/KoW with jumping Wolves and Wildlinges a go.

    • JonofPDX likes this

Can you ambush Mance Rayder from your hand with 6g?

You can't ambush him at all, at least not using his own ability.  (Except as a duplicate.)  From the rules: "Card abilities on characters, locations, and attachments can only be initiated or affect the game from an in play area unless they specifically refer to being used from an out of play area, or require that the card be out of play for the ability to resolve."

    • Cloud likes this
Jan 09 2017 08:23 AM

Can you ambush Mance Rayder from your hand with 6g?

No, because Mance doesn't have the Ambush keyword himself, and his ability doesn't say it works from an out of play state, so it doesn't grant Ambush to Wildlings until he himself is actually in play.
    • Cloud likes this