Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -

Duel to the Death

Duel to the Death

Duel to the Death

Type: Event
Cost: 1
Clan: Crane
Action: During a conflict, initiate a [Military] duel – your opponent may dishonor his or her character to refuse the duel. Otherwise, resolve the duel. Discard the duel’s loser.
“So be it.” – Kakita Toshimoko
Influence: 3
Deck: Conflict
Number: 36
Illustrator: Sergio Camarena
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Legend of the Five Rings Deck Builder!


If the target opponent is already dishonored, can they refuse the duel?

No. From the Rules Reference Guide:

"If the effect text of a card ability contains a sentence that includes the word 'to,' then the text that follows the word 'to' can only be resolved if the preceding text was successfully resolved in full."

Opponents can't dishonor a character who is already dishonored, so they have no way to refuse the duel.