Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -


Type: Enemy
Encounter Set: The Morgul Vale
Threat Threshold: 30
Threat Strength: 2 Attack: 5 Defense: 2 Hit Points: 7
Orc. Uruk. Captain.
Forced: After Murzag attacks, reveal the top card of the encounter deck. If that card is an enemy, put it into play engaged with the defending player.

Set: TMV Number: 151
Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Jim Pavelec


If Murzag's Forced effect puts an enemy into play does it attack as normal that phase? If so would it get a shadow card? I am guessing yes, no.


This contrasts with Brutal Uruk which explicitly states the new enemy gets a shadow card and attacks when it's Forced effect fires.

    • RichardPlunkett likes this
Jan 28 2016 05:39 PM

If an enemy is revealed and engages you they will make another attack provided you are in the combat phase since you have to resolve 1 attack per enemy that you are engaged with during that phase.  And while the inconsistency frustrates me, what I gather from the FAQ is that any time an enemy makes an attack they are dealt a shadow card.   So yes and yes.

Jan 29 2016 10:59 AM

Enemies are only dealt a shadow card as part of their attack when they attack "outside of the combat phase" (FAQ 1.26); which is to say, when they attack outside the normal framework. Otherwise every enemy engaged with a player would receive 2 shadow card: one at the beginning of the combat phase and one at the onset of their attacks.

I will agree that the FAQ could be phrased more clearly than it is; "...still dealt a shadow card at the beginning of the attack" - the word "still" bothers my because enemies are not usually dealt a shadow card at the beginning of an attack, as suggested.

And the limitation by the phrasing "if an enemy attacks outside of the combat phase", which suggests that any extra attack instigated during the combat phase will not be eligible to receive a shadow card; though to be a little fair, I believe these extra attacks usually come with instructions to ad a shadow card anyway.

Jan 29 2016 03:37 PM

However, there is also: 

(1.42) Additional attacks by an enemy

When an enemy makes an additional attack, discard all of its previously dealt shadow cards before dealing it a new shadow card.


So even during the combat phase, additional attacks would get a new shadow card.  


I went ahead and asked, since it isn't clear what to do about newly engaged enemies.

Jan 29 2016 05:00 PM

Got an answer from Caleb. The new enemy will attack but it doesn't get a shadow card since it wasn't present at the beginning of the combat phase.   

Thanks for that. It makes sense but then so do the previous suggestions!

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.