Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Elven Jeweler

Elven Jeweler
Type: Ally Sphere: Spirit
Cost: 2
Willpower: 1 Attack: 1 Defense: 1 Hit Points: 2
Noldor. Craftsman.
Action: Discard 2 cards from your hand to put Elven Jeweler into play from your hand, under your control.

“...to the Elven-smiths they were but trifles...” -Gandalf, The Fellowship of the Ring
Set: Escape from Mount Gram Number: 33
Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Cassandre Bolan


Great stats for a Spirit Ally for the sake of 2 cards. Add a little lore and/or recursion it is basically a free ally.

Not sure about this one. Is it possible to use an action from a card in your hand?

Feb 19 2016 04:35 PM

The same way you take an Action when playing an event from hand.  

Oh nice, I didn't know we could use action. It makes Wandering Took a better card : "Action: Reduce your threat by 3 to give control of Wandering Took to another player. Raise that player's threat by 3."

The same way you take an Action when playing an event from hand.  


I agree that that is the deisgners intention and how we're supposed to read this, but I can see @Binaras' point. After all, the same logic could be applies to someone like Ally Erestor to say you should be able to use his ability every round whether he was on the board or not. 


But, yeah: a common sense reading of the card does imply that it references itself. And it's not the only ally that does this. 

Feb 20 2016 12:27 AM

In order to trigger an action on a hero, ally, or attachment card, the card on which the action is printed must be in play, unless the action specifies that it can be triggered from an out of play state.


So, Wandering Took's ability cannot be used from hand, since that is not in play, and it doesn't say anything to specifically allow it.


Meanwhile, even though Elven Jeweler is not as explicit as it could be, the fact this ability puts itself into play "from your hand" implies to a satisfactory level that it can be triggered from your hand.


Even if that exception wasn't in the rules, the Golden Rule would still apply, since abilities have to make sense, and since this one could only ever be used from an out-of-play state, it clearly would have permission to be used from the named out-of-play state.

    • WhatTheDice and Binaras like this
Feb 20 2016 05:18 PM

@Binaras - that is not what I intended to mean.  Since this action explains that it is triggered from hand is what allows you to use this ability.  Have you ever used Spirit Bofur?


Both of them state that they enter play from hand after you pay the specific cost of the action.  Bofur: Pay 1 to put into play.  Elven Jeweler: Discard 2 to put into play.


Or, in both cases, you could pay their printed cost and play them during the planning phase as normal.

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.