Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Black Forest Bats


Black Forest Bats
Type: Enemy
Encounter Set: Passage Through Mirkwood
Threat Threshold: 15
Threat Strength: 1 Attack: 1 Defense: 0 Hit Points: 2
Creature.
When Revealed: Each player must choose 1 character currently committed to a quest, and remove that character from the quest. (The chosen character does not ready.)

They could not stand that, nor the huge bats, black as a top-hat, either... - The hobbit
Set: Core Number: 98
Quantity: 1
Illustrator: David Lecossu


6 Comments

I hate it when these come up in multiplayer. Be prepared for a big threat increase.
I feel that they are more problematic in solo play rather than multiplayer

Naw i think that these guys aren´t nothing to me because i usually lose only 1 or 2 willpower when i´m playing solo and it doesn´t even have anykind of shadow effect. I would say that this is free gift to Legolas. 2/5 threat i think.

Card itself does not present to much threat, but it certainly is one of my favourite card art from the core set.

If I have Thalin committed to the quest and choose him to be removed, does it still get to deal 1 damage to the Bats? In this situation we have two "When Revealed" effects where the order of resolution is important to the final result. In which order do I resolve them?

 

My guess is that Thalin deals the damage anyway, as soon as the encounter card is revealed, just before it's removed from the quest by the encounter card effect and player decision. Is this right?

My guess is that Thalin deals the damage anyway, as soon as the encounter card is revealed, just before it's removed from the quest by the encounter card effect and player decision. Is this right?

 

Sorry, just found the answer in the FAQ. Yes, Thalin gets to inflict the damage before any other "When Revealed" effect takes place.


© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.