Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *


Type: Event Sphere: Tactics
Cost: 1

Combat Action: Choose an enemy engaged with a player. That enemy cannot attack this phase.

A few brave men were strung before them to make a feint of resistance, and many there fell before the rest drew back and fled to either side. - The Hobbit
Set: Core Number: 34
Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Lius Lasahido


A very solid card, a staple of many tactics decks and rightly so.
there's a big release when you see one of these in your hand.
    • CoreSetHeroes likes this
such a saver
Jun 05 2015 04:37 AM

I ran into a situation with this card the other day and I wasn't quite sure how to resolve it. I was playing one of the Fellowship quests (I don't remember the name at the moment) and the watcher in the water was in play and was "considered to be engaged with each player" is it legal to use Feint on the watcher? If so, is the watcher unable to attack all players or just one?

Feint has been changed in the LOTR FAQ ver 1.4 to read “Combat Action: Choose an enemy engaged with a player. That enemy cannot attack that player this phase.” This was done to limit the ability of Hama recycling feint/thicket of spears and essentially locking down bosses such as Durin's Bane in Multi-Player games.

Jun 08 2015 12:23 AM

So in my example could I choose a player, and then the watcher couldn't attack that player?

Well...Watcher is Immune to player card effects. And Feint says specifically "Choose an enemy". So it's illegal to Feint Watcher in any circumstances. 

Jan 16 2019 03:26 AM

One of the best cards in the game IMO. Definitely one of the best tactics cards. 

Useful for fighting hordes and brutes alike. 


Think about it - you don't have to declare a defender and you don't have to worry about the shadow card delt to that enemy. AND it's just 1 cost. 

Jan 20 2019 11:08 PM

Its only flaw is that it's a Combat Action, which means you can't use it for enemies that attack outside of the Combat Phase. Still an auto-include in my Tactic decks.

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.