Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Legolas


  • Jiriki likes this
Legolas
Type: Hero Sphere: Tactics
Threat Threshold: 9
Willpower: 1 Attack: 3 Defense: 1 Hit Points: 4
Noble. Silvan. Warrior.
Ranged.
Response: After Legolas participates in an attack that destroys an enemy, place 2 progress tokens on the current quest.
"I can walk this path, but others have not this skill." - The Fellowship of the Ring.

Set: Core Number: 5
Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Magali Villeneuve


35 Comments

Did step 1, 2, 3 or 4 kill the enemy?  No.  An independent event - that you could have played completely outside of this small window - is what killed the enemy. Being killed "during" an attack is entirely different language and meaning than being killed "by" an attack. 

 

But at this point, we should just wait for an official response from your post on their forums. 

 

That's not exactly true. A response to step 2 is what killed it. I can't play Swift Strike unless the enemy attacks, letting me declare a defender (step 2). The card is tied to that attack. It can only be played because of it. 

If we are netpicking, then cards that increase Legolas attack strenght enough for him to destroy his enemies on step 4 is what kills the enemy, not him. Are we also not counting those cases for his response either?

 

I hope someone answers at FFG forums, but so far, no luck. I have contacted them through their email system too, but no answer either. So far, I can't find anything on the rules that contradicts my interpretation of how the effect can work (which is what I was asking here), so if that's not how the cards are intended to work they need to clarify it and add it to the FAQ.

Photo
slothgodfather
Feb 29 2016 03:31 PM

A response to step 2 is what killed it.

No. The event you are playing is not a "response" and even if it was, it still fundamentally and technically different than it destroying the enemy and an attack (strength vs shield+health) killing it.

 

If we are netpicking, then cards that increase Legolas attack strenght enough for him to destroy his enemies on step 4 is what kills the enemy, not him. Are we also not counting those cases for his response either?

 

The cards are increasing Legolas's attack value and so when he kills something by attacking it, it is his attack value that does it - regardless of how his value got to the number it is.  

 

 

These are completely different effects and you cannot equate them for comparison, only to properly differentiate from what the effects are doing. 

 

 

I also disagree that this needs to be in the FAQ because it is clearly not a Frequently Asked Question.  

 

No. The event you are playing is not a "response" and even if it was, it still fundamentally and technically different than it destroying the enemy and an attack (strength vs shield+health) killing it.

 

Am I missing something here too? Swift Strike text says:

Response: After a character is declared as a defender, deal 2 damage to the attacking enemy. 

 

Since it had a bolded "response" word in it, I assumed it was a response. Am I also assuming it wrong here?

 

 

I also disagree that this needs to be in the FAQ because it is clearly not a Frequently Asked Question.

 

I think my main issue with the LotR LCG is the lack of rules reference like aGoT 2.0. (and other games I played) where I could go to check the official meaning of certain words. Since no such thing exist, all I can do is assume.

For example, the word destroy isn't described by the rulebook for when an ally deals more damage than the enemy remaining hit points. What it says is that when the damage dealt to an enemy is equal or higher than his hit points the enemy is "defeated". So I have to assume destroy equals defeated or else the card doesn't make sense. My point is that I shouldn't have to assume anything, the rules should make that clear for me (and that's why I think stuff like this needs to be on a FAQ/extended rules).

Photo
slothgodfather
Feb 29 2016 06:51 PM

Sorry, I didn't see you switched to using Swift Attack instead of the original event you had mentioned.  The issue still stands of what is actually doing the defeating/destroying/killing.  Clearly we are not going to convince each other either way, so I'm going to say I'm done at this point until you hear back from Caleb.  

Sorry, wrote the name incorrectly. It's Swift Strike (the response skill is the right one). Thanks for the correction.

Photo
Nerdmeister
Mar 02 2016 10:42 AM

Defending against an attack is not the same as participating in an attack. In order for a character to “participate in an attack” it must be attacking an enemy.
Cheers,
Caleb

 

Not much of a surprise there

    • slothgodfather and Valdemart like this

When the card refers to Legolas, it refers to the card names Legolas, so the card Legolas must participate in the attack that destroy the ennemy. If the card Legolas doesn't make any damage, it doesn't participate in the attack.

At least for me this answer confirms that rules never imply more meaning then the one that is clearly written unless otherwise specified.

 

However, one should not stop to look for interesting interactions. Also it is worth writing it shortly here in case somebody is looking: Legolas, Arod and Blade of Gondolin work only when the player is attacking, and never on the defense.

    • slothgodfather likes this

By far my favourite character so far in the game (only have core set). He is so efficient and work brilliantly with Blade of Gondolin, and his skill do the job pretty much every turn. He is great for location lock as well when you have too many and can't get through their threat level. Very efficient.

Photo
RichardPlunkett
Sep 23 2016 11:06 PM

Once you buy some more cards, the Blade of Gondolin will stop making your decks, but Legolas remains pretty solid even after all the expansions.


© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.