Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Stand Together


Stand Together
Type: Event Sphere: Tactics
Cost: 0

Action: Choose a player. That player may declare any number of his eligible characters as defenders against each enemy attacking him this phase.

...and when the task was done, there they would come to an end, alone, houseless, foodless in the midst of a terrible desert. There could be no return. - The Return of the King
Set: Core Number: 38
Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Daarken


10 Comments

This card currently battles with Rain of Arrows (Core) for worst card of the set.
does it mean that the characters you chose to defend against 1 enemy are valid against another enemy as well?
Photo
HilariousPete
May 12 2012 12:17 PM
Yes, but only if you can ready them between the defenses. (Because the usual cost of defending, character exhaustion, still applies.)
    • Reager likes this
not sure I understand how this card works at all. Could some enlighten?
the chosen player can defend each individual attack from engaged monsters using how many characters he wants in that phase. For example: if you have 4 characters available and you are engaged with 2 monsters; you can defend 1 attack using 2 characters and the other attack using the other 2, or use 3 characters to defend the first attack, ready one of them and defend the second attack with 2.

@Reager, I'm new to the game but I thought the attacks were simultaneous, so you couldn't play actions between more than one attack in the same phase. It doesn't make sense to me that one person could be in two places doing two things at the same moment.

Doesn't it say use any number of characters to defend against each enemy attack occurring during the current phase.  So the advantage is you get to use multiple characters more than once to defend against enemy attacks since the enemy doesn't get to pool there attack strength.

You still need to exhaust a character to defend. So unless you have a way to ready your characters between resolving attacks you can't use same character to defend against two enemies.

 

The advantage is that you add your defense value from all characters involved in a defense and compare that total to enemy's attack value to determine damage you need to assign [if any].

If there is still enought atk to go over def, lets say 8 atk and 6 def (3 defenders), where the wounds go? Can I give 1 wound to two characters?

Photo
Nerdmeister
Nov 14 2014 01:28 PM

All wounds to one character as per the FAQ


© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.