Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Steward of Gondor

Steward of Gondor
Type: Attachment Sphere: Leadership
Cost: 2
Gondor. Title.
Attach to a hero.
Attached hero gains the Gondor Trait.
Action: Exhaust Steward of Gondor to add 2 resources to attached hero's resource pool.

"It was commanded yesterday." - Denethor, The Return of the King
Set: Core Number: 26
Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Empty Room Studios


Show me any game of LOTR with less than 3 of these in the decks...
    • MaShiKai likes this
Ideally, everyone has three, but unfortunately, too many of us only have one copy of the core set :(.
considering it is unique I think 2 copies are enough
Cardboard of the rings says you must exhaust the hero that this is attached to in order to gain the resources. Any thoughts?
Pretty sure that's from one of their early episodes, and that's incorrect. Attachments and characters exhaust independently of one another unless otherwise specified.
    • jmcgloth and MaShiKai like this
A spectacular card, it would still be worth 5-stars if it were "restricted" and only gave you 1 resource.

I don´t like these "must include in every deck" cards. It should have some kind of restriction example: "Play only if each hero you control has a printed leadership resource icon." Or it would have text like: Action: Exhaust Steward of Gondor to add 1 resource attached hero´s resource pool (2 resources instead if attached hero has a Steward trait). After that Steward of Gondor would still be really good card but not necessary card.

This card needs a nerf. Restricted or Faction only or require ONLY Leadership Heroes in your build would fix this card. 

This card is unbelievably powerful and needs an errata. It cost 2 resources and grants 2 resources therefore you are playing it for free. Make it trait restricted or at least make it only 1 resource per exhaust.

Mar 03 2015 05:33 PM

Honestly, since the game isn't competitive - I would suggest you just house-rule it how you would like it to be.

    • MaShiKai and StarBoy like this

Sure its an auto-include but it really isn't broken 

I haven't really seen this card win a game on its own. When it's also tied to the least loved sphere, I doubt they would limit its best card.

    • Chris51261 likes this

Hi guys I have a question, maybe a silly one. In a two handed game is it possible to attach SoG to the other player hero? Thanks.

Mar 27 2015 01:50 PM

Absolutely.  You are essentially playing a 2 player game, so the standard rules still apply.  Remember it is unique, so the players as a group can only have 1 in play at a time.

I'm an idiot. When I read "exhaust Steward of Gondor", I thought it meant "Exhaust the hero bearing the title of Steward of Gondor". The card seemed kinda mediocre to me - only after I saw the comments above I realised I was wrong :D

    • slothgodfather likes this
May 29 2015 11:18 AM

Attach to a hero.

Hero becomes Gondor.

Attach Blood of Numenor.

Defence = over 9000

May 29 2015 02:31 PM

Until you get the shadow effect that says the defender doesn't count their defense.  

Steward of Gondor has become a short-hand for very powerful, almost silly powerful, in LotR LCG.  It's nice to have such a strong player card, but it certainly has warped the game and design, in that it remains the standard for resource generation.  A 5/5

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.