Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Will of the West


Will of the West
Type: Event Sphere: Spirit
Cost: 1

Action: Choose a player. Shuffle that player's discard pile back into his deck.

"If Gondor has such men still in these days of fading, great must have been its glory in the days of its rising." - Legolas, The Return of the King
Set: Core Number: 49
Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Erfian Asafat


18 Comments

You don't need this card at all in most decks. But on the other hand this card creates a deck archetype all by itself ("Deckcycle" decks or however they might be dubbed).
Dead early on. I never play more than 1, even in Zigil decks, because
Dwarven Tomb (Core) allows you (and your friends) to go infinite, if needed. But in the vast majority of games, by the time you get to wanting to play this, let alone play it multiple times, the result is already decided.
    • Runix likes this
! more broken card in this game. Deserve bann or errata 100% in my opinion!
This card isn't broken. 99% of the time I draw it, I think 'Man, I need to put something else in this deck'. I don't know that I've ever run out of cards in a game, even without this card.
you'll need this card if you are playing the nightmare variant.
I run one copy of this, but as noted above, running out of cards is rare, even when I'm running Bilbo Baggins (THFG). I have used it, however, for the rare occasions where the cards I will need are in my discard pile, not in my hand or deck - e.g., when I've already blown through my most useful events, such as all my copies of A Test of Will (Core), and need to get them back.
Often enough I'll use this card three or four times a game, and I almost always use it at least once. It's nice to keep cycling events once everything else is on the table. Use with Dwarven Tomb (Core).
Does this card go onto your discard pile prior to adding the discard pile back into the deck?
Photo
Nerdmeister
May 15 2013 09:30 AM
It goes to the discard pile after you have shuffled your deck
Photo
danilopatro
Oct 09 2014 10:27 AM
From faq at BGG:
 
*If you choose yourself, Will of the West is discarded after the shuffling is completed so it won't be included in the shuffling.
*Note that dead Heroes should not be shuffled back into the deck.

I think it cost should be 0 and even that wouldn´t make me to use this card in my deck.

1/5 i think.

I think it cost should be 0 and even that wouldn´t make me to use this card in my deck.

1/5 i think.

You maybe think this way 'cause you probably never played the 2nd scenario of The Hobbit: OHaUH. The "Riddles in the Dark" part is very difficult to pass without this card. And that's not the only scenario where I think this card would work well...

You maybe think this way 'cause you probably never played the 2nd scenario of The Hobbit: OHaUH. The "Riddles in the Dark" part is very difficult to pass without this card. And that's not the only scenario where I think this card would work well...

I have been played it but never needed that card even in that quest. But everyone has it´s own play style and someone could need this card if using somekind of discarding deck or something like that.

I've considered Will of the West in my Silvan deck that uses a lot of events. Once the events go, they're gone, so reshuffling them into a deck thinned from attachments and allies (since they're in play!) can really be a nice benefit. 

 

I was going to use this last night in my Spirit deck that partnered that Silvan deck, but...It got cut. So, there are uses, but I think there's more powerful cards these days. 

    • Thror likes this
Photo
Nerdmeister
Oct 28 2014 07:05 AM

I've considered Will of the West in my Silvan deck that uses a lot of events. Once the events go, they're gone, so reshuffling them into a deck thinned from attachments and allies (since they're in play!) can really be a nice benefit. 

 

I was going to use this last night in my Spirit deck that partnered that Silvan deck, but...It got cut. So, there are uses, but I think there's more powerful cards these days. 

If that is your specific goal, I´d think that map of Earnil and dwarven tomb are better options.

Spirit also has alot of allies that gets sacrificed for various reasons, which you might want to get back; I´ve only used Will of the West myself when I plan on cycling through my deck fast with stuff like Emery and/or Ancient Mathom. Don´t underestimate the power of lot´s of cheap cards.

This card is (was at least, since it has been errata'd) definiatly broken. If you have a repeatable scrying effect (hello denethor) and you're playing solo, you know exactly what's coming every round. This way you can commit the right amount of willpower to make not a single progress, but without having to raise your threat by questing unsuccesfully. With a decent amount of allies on the table, both enemies and locations get cleared out in one turn. Then just keep every event in your hand, apart from the ones that lower your threat. Keep on recycling these with will of the west and your threat will hit zero. At that point put everyone on the quest again, and win the scenario in a breeze (without having to bother about enemies anymore, because you will never hit their engagement requirement). This deck is unbeatable once it vets started. Or at least it was, before the card got a little change. Right now it should be removed from the game after using it. Gone infinite recycling.
Photo
RichardPlunkett
Jan 03 2016 11:47 AM

Post-errata, its a great card in a lot of decks. But pre-errata it was one of the truly broken cards. There were numerous infinite loops it created and even some one-turn win decks built off it.

Probably one day they will invent a Noldor - event card that lowers your threat and should be played from the discard pile. A new way of going infinite. Actually, these Noldor events that are now available are the only 'infinite' cards we have in the current card pool. New favorite deck type number one: Noldor. Oh and I forget to mention something about the OP-ness of the pre-errata WotW deck. This works well, as long as the quest doesn't put any pressure on you. To explain this with an example: one of the real nightmares of such a deck is 'Doom doom doom'. It's like a warning sign at the start of the tunnel: "Too many times have you crushed little quests with your stupid stalling strategy. No more. We give you ten turns, and then we send Durin's Bane after you. We hope you can run very swiftly, or it'll be a massacre." Ten turns later, and four threat higher (or something like that, it depends on the amount and potency of your threat reduction effects) de Balrog starts eating up your allies. The only thing you do is telling him this: "But this isn't fair! I wasn't ready for you yet!" The hard but true response will be: "Deal with it"

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.