Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -

The Thing in the Depths

The Thing in the Depths
Type: Enemy
Encounter Set: The Thing in the Depths
Threat Threshold: 50
Threat Strength: 2 Attack: 5 Defense: - Hit Points: 8
Immune to player card effects. Cannot be engaged.
The Thing in the Depths gets +3 hit points per player.
Forced: When a Creature enemy is destroyed, deal damage to The Thing in the Depths equal to that enemy’s [Threat].

Set: The Thing in the Depths Number: 49
Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Álvaro Calvo Escudero


Jun 15 2016 10:34 AM
How would 'The Thing' interact with Tactics Aragorn and his ability? Out of curiosity, is there any way to engage it at all? Or does the word 'cannot' overrule everything?
Jun 15 2016 03:45 PM

"cannot" over rules everything.  So you cannot use any tricks to actually engage this enemy.  It's also immune to player card effects, so there is no way to engage this thing directly.


Even if you could, with a "null" value defense, I'd argue you can never hit it, since "null" is not the same as having zero defense.

    • timmmaskiell likes this

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.