Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -

Pickpocket


Pickpocket
Type: Enemy
Encounter Set: Streets of Gondor
Threat Threshold: 28
Threat Strength: 3 Attack: 1 Defense: 0 Hit Points: 2
Brigand.
Forced: When Pickpocket attacks, the defending player discards 1 resource from one of his heroes' resource pools and 1 card at random from his hand.
Shadow: Defending player discards 1 of his attachments. (Discard all of his attachments instead if undefended.)

Set: HON Number: 37
Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Asahi


10 Comments

Are former treacheries now attached to a player's character eligible for discarding?

I think so, because it doesn´t say that you have to control that attachment.

The question is, what does "his" stand for? Is it the same as "he controls" or not?

Photo
slothgodfather
Apr 08 2015 08:09 PM

I'm pretty sure the defending player and the reference to "his" is always the player the enemy is attacking, not who controls the character that happens to defend - in the case of sentinel. 

I ment "his"in shadow effect. If it is legal to discard condition attachment Local Trouble through this shadow effect and if I have to discard Alcarons Scroll in case of undefended attack.
Photo
slothgodfather
Apr 09 2015 02:34 PM

Ah I'm not sure there.  I know if a player puts an attachment on your character, you are considered to be the controller of that card.   But I don't recall seeing anything about encounter card attachments.

Photo
Nerdmeister
Apr 20 2015 09:16 AM

You are not the controller of encounter card attachments unless the encounter card specifically grants you control of it.

    • acedrac likes this
Photo
slothgodfather
Apr 20 2015 03:19 PM

Nice idea, except I just looked at the text from the quest card "Into the Pit" which states:

"...and have the first player attach Cave Torch to a hero of his choice..."

 

And "Search for the Chamber" uses the same verbiage:

"Search the encounter deck for Book of Mazarbul, and have the first player attach it to a hero of his choice."

 

Neither state you gain control of it, unlike the rules that state when another player puts an attachment on you, control changes to you.

Photo
Nerdmeister
Apr 21 2015 05:22 AM

Interesting finds though the ruling I was referring to from the FAQ:

(1.06) Control of Non-objective Encounter Cards Players do not gain control of encounter cards unless control of the card is explicitly granted by a card effect. When an encounter card (such as Caught in a Web, CORE 86) becomes an attachment and attaches to a character, that character’s controller does not gain control of the attachment.

 

Seeing as the discussion started with a question about treacheries as attachments, I continued from that PoV, though as you can see the objectives are another (and in this instance unrelated) matter.

Photo
slothgodfather
Apr 21 2015 09:01 PM

Got a clarification, you do gain control of objective cards, so they would be valid targets for this cards shadow effect.


© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.