Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -


Type: Ally Sphere: Tactics
Cost: 5
Willpower: 1 Attack: 3 Defense: 1 Hit Points: 4
Creature. Eagle.
Sentinel. Landroval cannot have restricted attachments.
Response: After a hero card is destroyed, return Landroval to his owner's hand to put that hero back into play, with 1 damage token on it. (Limit once per game.)

Set: AJtR Number: 53
Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Allison Theus


Solid card. I find the ability almost never is relevant - when heroes dies it seems to always be before I have Landroval down. Still, a strong blocker (don't forget the Sentinel) and attacker.
Second most powerful Eagle at the time of Frodo's journey (Only Gwaihir his brother was more powerful). There is some evidence in Tolkien's writings to suggest that Landroval and Gwaihir were present with Thorondor himself when they rescued Beren and Luthien from Angband as well as fought alongside Earendil against the dragons in the final battle against Morgoth. All of this happened in the First Age which means Landroval is probably between 6000 and 7000 years old! Think about that the next time you lay him down on the table. :D As a card, he's very solid and really shines as a way to regenerate damaged heroes, especially Beorn.
    • Felagund and Thror like this

hey does this trigger with boromirs ability? or is discarding him different then destroyed for your hero? I saw this on the table when played yesterday i ended up not using boromirs ability and use this because didn't want to cheat if couldn't do that but would be pretty sweet if could. 

Oct 20 2014 03:23 PM

destroyed is different than discarded, unfortunately.

It should read: "After a hero card leaves play..." then it would be better, because i haven´t never used any hero card discarding cards, but if Landroval would have that text on it, i might consider to use those abilities.

May 19 2017 12:46 AM

I've wondered for a while, especially now with the introduced concept of "Once per game per player" - Landroval's text states "Limit once per game". Now how does that apply exactly? Does it mean that this ability, across the board, can only be done one time - or only one time for the player who owns this specific card (i.e. what if another player plays a different copy of Landroval later in the game)? Or perhaps limit once for the particularity revived hero? I can't seem to find an agreed-upon interpretation.

May 21 2017 06:28 AM

From FAQ 1.8:: Section 1.51:: Limitations on card effects:

When a card with a triggered effect has a limit on the number of times that effect can be triggered (i.e. “Once per round,” “Limit 3 times per phase,” etc.), the limit is specific to that card. However, if a card has a limit of “once per game,” that limitation is specific to the player who triggered it.


So, "once per game" means "once per game per player", they are the same thing, plain and simple.

Nothing on Landroval requires that you are saving your own hero, so the same hero could be saved more than once, as long as different players trigger the effect.

But you can only trigger effects on cards you control, so either both players would have to have Landorval in their deck or you would have to have some way for another player to take control of him (such as Stand and Fight or Defender of the West).

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.