Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -

Scorching Blast

Scorching Blast
Type: Treachery
Encounter Set: The Battle of Lake-Town

When Revealed: Resolve all burn damage from all locations in play.
Shadow: Resolve this card's "When Revealed" effect. Any player may discard a hero to cancel this effect.

Set: TBoLT Number: 10
Quantity: 3
Illustrator: David Demaret


Feb 15 2016 04:21 AM
A group of four of us are divided on how Eleanor can handle this. The shadow says to "Resolve this card's "When Revealed" effect. So, in turn, can it be cancelled by Eleanor, because it IS the "when revealed effects of a treachery card"? One of us says yes. One of us says no because she considers it a shadow card and not a treachery card. I say no because it wasn't " just revealed by the encounter deck " And the other is undecided, not sure what exactly enacts it to "be revealed". (Though he said it's an easy decision to just discard a hero instead! X( ) Thoughts?
Feb 15 2016 06:28 PM

"Exhaust Eleanor to cancel the "when revealed" effects of a treachery card just revealed by the encounter deck."



Regardless of whether or not it is considered a treachery card doesn't get around that it wasn't just revealed by the encounter deck, so Eleanor cannot cancel this shadow effect.

    • RichardPlunkett likes this

Eleanor cancels Treacheries and the second effect is a Shadow effect - by the rulebook when a card is used as a shadow effect no other text is actually active, so the card is not a Treachery, but a Shadow card, if you like (although there is no such thing as shadow card, only effect).


Also, sloth gave another valid reasoning.

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.