Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -


Type: Ally Sphere: Leadership
Cost: 3
Willpower: 2 Attack: 1 Defense: 1 Hit Points: 3
While you control at least 5 Dwarf characters, Gloin gains: "Response: After you play Gloin from your hand, choose a hero. Add 2 resources to that hero's resource pool.

Gloin lit several more torches, and then they all crept out, one by one... - The Hobbit
Set: OtD Number: 6
Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Jeff Lee Johnson


Jul 16 2015 11:55 AM

Does this work if I control 4 Dwarf characters and then play Gloin (and then I control 5 Dwarves when it's time for his response to trigger)?

That's how I play him, because his response activates after you play him. If someone tells you otherwise, ignore them, except if it's Caleb. :-P

    • RichardPlunkett likes this

Well, I am no Caleb obviously :D....but I think while are you playing him you already have to control 5 dwarves. Because if he is the fifth dwarf he would get the response AFTER he is played...so too late.

When you put him into play as a fifth dwarf, then you activate his response. But if you think that you need already 5 dwarves into play, go for it! You just have to wait one more turn to play him and activate his ability! 

Was there clarification for the 5 dwarf control language? It is a little weird to me when reading it because the card is not in play with a response while in your hand. So his text and response are not in effect yet. He gets the response once he is on the table. And at that point, you look at the table, and if you control 5 dwarves...he should be able to give the resources then. I just don't see how it is too late, since text wouldn't count from the time you place him on the table from your hand. Dwarves, for this effect, should only be counted once he is on the table. 

There was this message from Caleb:



Bifur and Gloin count towards the number of dwarf characters you control when triggering their Response abilities because they have to enter play before they can trigger. As soon as they enter play, you control them.




=> so yes, Gloin count as the fifth dwarf!

    • ObiLen likes this

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.