Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -

Thror's Key

Thror's Key
Type: Attachment Sphere: Spirit
Cost: 1
Artifact. Item.
Attach to a hero.
Response: After a location is added to the staging area, attach Thror's Key to that location. While attached to a location, Thror's Key gains: "Treat attached location's printed text box as blank, except for traits."

"The key that went with the map! Try it now while there is still time!" - Bilbo, The Hobbit
Set: OtD Number: 16
Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Eric Braddock


so finally noticed this card for the first time and I think that can be a really good card now where newer quests are having constant negative effects on locations. 

    • slothgodfather and fractaloon like this
May 11 2015 05:31 PM

The Map has also proven to be extremely useful as well, especially first turn for forcing an active location first turn.

What happens if this is placed on a location with an "X" for threat? Does the location contribute no threat or do you still have to resolve the "X is equal to...." part before placing the key on it?
Jul 28 2015 10:27 AM

The Map has also proven to be extremely useful as well, especially first turn for forcing an active location first turn.

Though Thror´s Map has been errataed to read "Travel Action:...

No forced location first turn with this.

Jul 28 2015 05:33 PM

@Burns - assuming it is the location's text that is telling you how to determine X, then will will have a value until you blank it.  then X would equal zero as there is no longer any text telling it what value to be.


@Nerd - I actually only recently found that out.  I hadn't kept up with the FAQ apparently.   So you are correct.

Dumb question... when it becomes attached to a location, then that location leaves play, does this leave play as well?

Yes, it does. So you can then play another copy of it.
    • OrionM42X likes this

© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.