Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Bank Job



Bank Job

Bank Job


Type: Resource: Job
Cost: 1
Faction: Runner Criminal
Faction Cost: 2
Place 8 [Credits] from the bank on Bank Job when it is installed. When there are no credits left on Bank Job, trash it.
Whenever you make a successful run on a remote server, instead of accessing cards you may take any number of credits from Bank Job.
Set: Core Number: 029 Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Mauricio Herrera
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Crim!
Into The Rabbit Hole
Some random crim deck
Criminal - No Place to Hide
Single Core Gabe + Kati
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


19 Comments

Photo
slothgodfather
Sep 15 2012 05:21 PM
can you run on empty remote servers?
If it is completely empty, then there is no server.
But so long as there is a piece of Ice, upgrade/asset/agenda (rezzed or un-rezzed), you can run away.
So if there is an Ice (rezzed or un-rezzed), but no card to access, you cannot take credits from Bank Job, right?
ICE indicates a remote server. If you run on a remote server with no card to access, you CAN take credits from Bank Job. In fact, it would be highly recommended.
Suppose a corp sets up a server with an asset and no ICE. The runner accesses and trashes the asset. Would there still be a remote server there (and therefore be Bank Job-able in the future), or would it have been "decommissioned" (or however one would describe it)?
As I mentioned earlier, if there are no cards there at all, then there is no remote server. So if you ran and trashed the only card there, the remote server would no longer exist. If a can was then installed later, it would create a brand new remote server.
The runner can run on a archives even if there's no ICE neither facedown cards(just face up cards) to take money from Bank Job?

The runner can run on a archives even if there's no ICE neither facedown cards(just face up cards) to take money from Bank Job?


No, archives is a central server. Would have to run a remote server. Remote servers only exist if there is an asset, agenda, ice, or upgrade in it to create it. If there is nothing at all there is no remote server. If there is cards in the remote server, faceup or otherwise, then after the runner makes a successful run on that server they can take the credits instead of accessing the cards.
Youre sure that if there are no cards (Agenda/Upgrade) in the server, but there is ICE on the server, the runner cant use bank job?

I see no rule that says you don't access cards when there are no cards. And i really think this should not be left to "i think so then its obvoius", there is acess cards step, and empty sets of stuff tend to behave counter intuitively, so being explicit is the best. Especialy when there are cards like Corporate Troubleshooter (core) that will get trashed before runner acesses the server making bankjob run useless even when it seemed legit. (assuming this is the official interpretation of empty servers,i played the other way around; i really wish FFG set up card list like this with official per card Q&A...)

[edit]
ok, so consesus is empty server is also ok (if there is a remote server i.e. there is ICE or installed card)

Youre sure that if there are no cards (Agenda/Upgrade) in the server, but there is ICE on the server, the runner cant use bank job?


That is wrong. Bank Job replaces accessing cards. You take the credits instead of accessing whatever cards may or may not be there after successfully completing a run. Remember a run is considered successful BEFORE you access cards in a server. This is also important with a card like Medium.
This will be completely outmoded by Dirty Laundry.
Lol outmoded? it's exactly double the credits in net gain i don't think so!
Dirty Laundry works if the corp has no remote server, and lets you access cards as well as gain credits. The profit is greater with bank job though. I don't think one is strictly better than the other, I think they play different roles.
Exactly. Actually Bank Job's best use is to slap it down when the corp has no remote and dare them to create one.
Is there any reason not to take all 8 credits from Bank Job? It seems weird that they left an option to take less.

Is there any reason not to take all 8 credits from Bank Job? It seems weird that they left an option to take less.

There are two things on top of my head, why you should leave 1 credit on Bank Job:
1. You want to pawn it later to Aesop's Pawnshop
2. You need an emergency exit against a Whirlpool deck
    • TwitchCity and Deebster like this

Can I have 3 bank jobs installed and take the money from everyone instead of accessing?

Can I have 3 bank jobs installed and take the money from everyone instead of accessing?

 

No.  You can only perform one "instead of accessing" action.

 

For the 2nd and 3rd bank jobs, you are no longer accessing cards, so you cannot do the "instead of" action. 

Can I have 3 bank jobs installed and take the money from everyone instead of accessing?

 

Not on a single run: the "instead of accessing" phrase is used from one copy of the card -- you trigger that one only, instead of accessing.

    • dimithrone likes this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.