Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Femme Fatale



Femme Fatale

Femme Fatale


Type: Program: Icebreaker - Killer
Cost: 9 Memory Units: 1
Faction: Runner Criminal
Faction Cost: 1
1 [Credits]: Break sentry subroutine.
2 [Credits]: +1 strength.
When you install Femme Fatale, choose an installed piece of ice. When you encounter that ice, you may spend 1 [Credits] per subroutine on that ice to bypass it.
Strength: 2
Set: Core Number: 026 Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Kate Niemczyk
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Nexus Drom
Crim!
So Far So Good Valencia v1.3
So Far So Good Valencia v1.2
Nasir Abdul-Mughnī
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


14 Comments

Just to be clear, w/respects the 'when you install' part of this card, you can pick ANY type of ice and choose it, then in the future Femme Fatale will be able to spend 1 credit per subroutine on that ice to bypass it.

Just want to make sure I can use Femme Fatale to break barrier or code gate ice if that's the one I choose.
Yep.
Photo
Nerdmeister
Feb 09 2013 07:07 AM

Just to be clear, w/respects the 'when you install' part of this card, you can pick ANY type of ice and choose it, then in the future Femme Fatale will be able to spend 1 credit per subroutine on that ice to bypass it.

Just want to make sure I can use Femme Fatale to break barrier or code gate ice if that's the one I choose.

Not entirely accurate. You choose one specific piece of ICE not just a type of ICE
Also, after you have chosen a piece of Ice do you need to increase Femme Fatale's strength to break subroutines on that ice? Or can you just break sub routines no matter the strength of Femme?
Femme has two parts:
- normal killer part
- special bypass part

Killer part works like everything else - you need to increase strength, breaks only sentries etc.

Bypass part works completely different and is independent form normal part:
- you choose a piece of ice when you install it, type of ice doesn't matter, you can even choose unrezzed ice blindly
- strength doesn't matter (confirmed in FAQ), you dont interact with ICE, you bypass (ie skip) this ICE by paying an amount of credits equal to number of this ICE's subroutines; you do not break any of its subroutines and FAQ confirms effects like Chum (core) will fire when you bypass encountered ICE and did not break it's routines
- timing is a bit different. When you encounter is step 3 of FAQ run timing chart
normal icebreakers are used in step 3.1
- Tollbooth (core) fires in the same step 3, FAQ states that Femme ability fires first and runner will not pay
Like tollbooth, if you bypass Data Raven you do not take a tag, correct?
Photo
EmeraldGuardian
Mar 11 2013 08:44 PM
correct. As the active player the runner can decide the order of the 'when encountered' effects give priority to femme fatale's ability.
Photo
PrimusMagicus
May 02 2013 11:34 AM
So if i am correct, the text of femme is not for just that turn, but as long as that ice is there?
What happens with that ice if Femme leaves play? Can you still bypass it with femme's ability?
Based on the official FAQ for Madatory Upgrades, a card's effect is only active while it is in play. That means once Femme leaves play, so does it's effect.
Photo
bikinibabez4evr
Oct 10 2013 10:45 PM
So why is this card worth NINE credits?
Because it can basically nullify any piece of ice? Plus, there are ways to cheat it into play much cheaper.
Still a fantastic card. I try to fit this into every competitive runner deck I build.
Photo
AdorablePython
Mar 07 2015 04:35 PM

Can you skip unrezzed ice? Is a piece of ice ever encountered if the corp chooses not to rez it?

No you can't skip unrezzed ice. You can choose an unrezzed installed piece of ice when you install Femme Fatale. The ice is encountered when rezzed otherwise is being approached. The corp chooses whether to rez the ice or not.
    • AdorablePython likes this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.