Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Inside Job


  • onthelam likes this

Inside Job

Inside Job


Type: Event: Run
Cost: 2
Faction: Runner Criminal
Faction Cost: 3
Make a run. Bypass the first piece of ice encountered during this run.
Set: Core Number: 021 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Clark Huggins
Recent Decks Using This Card:
[Core 2.0] Criminal
Ken Runs
Double Desperado Drom
Nexus Drom
Crim!
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


13 Comments

Great early game card that makes running lightly protected servers a breeze.
Do you "encounter" unrezzed ice?

Do you "encounter" unrezzed ice?


No
Very cool for getting around a nasty-placed Archer.
"Make a Run" is part of the event, so you don't need to spend a click for the run?

"Make a Run" is part of the event, so you don't need to spend a click for the run?

Correct. You only pay one click for playing the card.
There are two ICE protecting remote server: the first one is unrezzed and the second is rezzed Archer. Corp only has 1 cred so I decided that he will not be able to rez the first ICE and I played Inside Job to bypass Archer. It turned out that the first ICE was Ice wall, and corp rezzed it. The question is: can I jack out after bypassing Ice wall before encountering Archer or did I screw up?
You can jack out.

You can jack out.


Can you explain, because when I bypass some ICE I'm technically not encountering it and also I cannot jack out first encountering ICE (in this example Archer)

Can you explain, because when I bypass some ICE I'm technically not encountering it and also I cannot jack out first encountering ICE (in this example Archer)

No. You can't jack out the first approached ice. Look at the timing structure. Approaching happens before encountering. You approach every piece of ice in a server, but only encounter rezzed pieces of ice.

No


True, but remember, the Ice you bypass can still affect you: the subroutines on the bypassed Ice are not broken, so that may matter in some cases. From the FAQ:

“Bypass”
When an effect allows the Runner to “bypass” a piece of ice, he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. Any subroutines on the ice bypassed are not broken. Bypassing prevents any unresolved conditional abilities that met their trigger condition when the ice was encountered from resolving.
Example: The Runner encounters a piece of ice that she can bypass with Femme Fatale. The last piece of ice the Runner encountered was Chum, whose subroutine the Runner did not break. (CHUM: The next piece of ice the Runner encounters during this run has +2 strength. Do 3 net damage unless the Runner breaks all subroutines on that piece of ice.) The Runner pays to bypass the current piece of ice with Femme Fatale, and takes 3 net damage from Chum’s ability, since subroutines on bypassed ice are not broken.

So if you use Inside Job to bypass Chum (or simply do not break Chum's subroutines), then use Femme Fatale to bypass the next Ice, you take 3 net damage because you didn't break the second Ice's subroutines.


So if you use Inside Job to bypass Chum (or simply do not break Chum's subroutines), then use Femme Fatale to bypass the next Ice, you take 3 net damage because you didn't break the second Ice's subroutines.

nope, the subroutines on chum didn't fire because you bypassed it with inside job.  Therefore you don't take damage

    • Meadbeard likes this
Photo
Bobolequiff
Feb 10 2015 05:05 PM

The example doesn't use inside job. In the example Chum was encountered and not broken.


Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.