Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Joshua B.

Joshua B.

Joshua B.

Type: Resource: Connection
Cost: 1
Faction: Runner Anarch
Faction Cost: 3
When your turn begins, you may gain [Click]. If you do, take 1 tag when this turn ends.
Set: Cyber Exodus Number: 042 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Jen Zee
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Catch Me If You Can!
Property is theft
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


Cost is listed as 10 when it should be 1.
The synergy of this card is really disappointing. In order for its ability to be useful you need to not care about tags in the first place, but if you don't care about tags in the first place then the corp can easily trash him. If a piece of hardware offered this effect it would at least have a niche in decks that don't care if they're tagged.
You are underestimating the power of an extra click. Look here.
Medium+Demolition run. Assuming you have cheap access to R&D, a medium set up with a single counter and 2 Demolition Runs in hand you could: run, run, demolish, demolish, run again. 15 different cards accessed in a single turn. that single extra click netted us 6 cards accessed before the corp could react.
J beebs + decoy
The problem is that you can only use him once. As soon as you get a tag, he gets trashed. I'm not buying it.
Based on the precedent set in the latest FAQ that forfeiting Breaking News prevents the tags from being removed since the card is no longer in play, I would think that taking this card out of play before the end of your turn would do the same. If you really want this and don't want the tag, I would think that using this in combination with Aesop's Pawnshop would actually allow you to take the click, gain three credits by trashing Joshua B, and avoid the tag.
Mar 09 2013 02:09 AM
The two effects on Breaking News trigger separately. if you use Joshua B. to gain a click the tag effect sticks around even if you pawn him off. ;)
Mar 09 2013 06:50 AM
It does seem to me that breaking news and Joshua B are related in this regard. They both use the phrasing "when the turn ends"
Breaking News has 2 separate triggers, one when you score it, and one when the turn ends. Joshua B has only one trigger, at the start of the turn, so the fact that he isn't around at the end of turn wouldn't prevent the second part.
You pay 1 click and 1 credit to get an extra click (so you essentially pay a single action) and then the corp spends a click and 2 credits to trash it (spending 3) it's pure gain. The only downside is if the corp has Freelancer or other tag punisments
You also use one card you'll need to draw, so its kinda even... if you can call getting taged "even" when you can end up burned to death or having your account closed...

But it can have some nice interactions. First is: Notoriety (Trace Amount) - Joshua enables you to get two Noteriety done in a single turn.

Additional click might be important when running bioroids (with E3 Feedback its one bioroid more), or when running stuff like Medium (core) + Demolition Run (core) as a surprise against to lightly defended RnD. This one click can be one big RnD run, before corp can strengthen RnD defenses.

I do think this card is currently quite weak, but it has a potential to allow some plays that would otherwise be not possible or much weaker.

Trashing with Pawnshop doesn't help IMO. Breaking news is worded differently.
The only right time to activate him is when the corp is at zero credits. if you think he's weak i invite you to play against me whenever you want.

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.