Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

The Twins



The Twins

The Twins


Type: Upgrade: Sysop
Cost: 2
Faction: Corp The Weyland Consortium
Faction Cost: 1
Whenever the Runner passes a piece of ice protecting this server, you can reveal and trash another copy of that of ice from HQ to force the Runner to encounter the piece of ice just passed again.
Anything worth doing is worth doing twice.
Trash: 2
Set: Order and Chaos Number: 24 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Antonio De Luca
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Round Table
Knights of the Round
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


19 Comments

Photo
KillerShrike
Feb 16 2015 09:55 PM

Makes unique ice a little more attractive...and 1 inf...might see this out of faction in say HB.

    • MagisterWrigley likes this

It's fun that the flavor text is exactly the same as on Deja Vu. Could this be a Weyland's comeback at something Noise (I don't think it goes back to Arthur Leonard Schawlow) did to them some time ago uttering it, so they developed this sysop just to get back at him in an ironic way. At least I'd like to think so.

Photo
AdorablePython
Mar 14 2015 10:24 AM

Putting the quote on a card was worth doing, so they did it twice. ;)

    • Nerdmeister, Daiker01 and TheNameWasTaken like this

How does this interact with bypassing effects (inside job, femme fatale)?

 

And if the ICE is killed during approaching (clone chip + parasite), does the runner still pass it?

How does this interact with bypassing effects (inside job, femme fatale)?

 

And if the ICE is killed during approaching (clone chip + parasite), does the runner still pass it?

 

Those are great questions: my guess is that, since the ICE is no longer installed in your second example, triggering the Twins is pointless.

 

The wording on The Twins indicates that the Runner encountered the ICE initially ("encounter . . . again"), so perhaps bypassing effects won't trigger it either.

 

You should get these into the official FAQ.

The Twins does nothing if the ICE has been destroyed, as the ICE is no longer protecting the server at the time The Twins is able to be triggered.

As for the bypass, according to the wording of both Femme and Inside Job you must first encounter ICE in order to bypass it, so there's no problem with the phrase 'encounter again'. You would bypass the ICE, encounter it again, and then I would think the outcome forks: if you used Femme, you can simply bypass it again as Femme's ability is persistent and you are technically encountering the same ICE; if you used Inside Job, you would not be able to bypass it, as its ability is good for one encounter and then it concludes.

    • Daiker01, Meadbeard, KillerShrike and 1 other like this
Photo
AdorablePython
Jun 02 2015 01:56 AM

Is the runner able to jack out when he has passed the ICE, to prevent The Twins from firing? I would think so, since it's the runner's turn - so he decides in which order effects trigger. But I'm not completely sure.

Is the runner able to jack out when he has passed the ICE, to prevent The Twins from firing?

 

No, because it forces the runner to encounter the ice. You can't jack out when you encounter a piece of Ice. 

    • Meadbeard and AdorablePython like this

No. The Twins forces the Runner to encounter the ICE a second or even third time, and as per the run structure there is no opportunity to jack out until an encounter has been fully resolved.

    • Meadbeard and AdorablePython like this
No. The Runner may not jack out. In fact, there's a paid ability window after the second time through, prior to the jack-out window, which the Corp can use to harm the Runner further with something like House of Knives.

The Runner may jack out when approaching the next piece of ICE or when approaching the server, which is a separate timing step from passing a piece of ICE.

Timing priority only affects "simultaneous" actions in the same timing step.
    • theamazingmrg and AdorablePython like this
Photo
AdorablePython
Jun 02 2015 04:23 PM

I see, thanks. Makes this card absolutely terrifying.

Note to mod: I'm pretty sure this triplicate posting, all detailing the same information, has come about due to a bug whereby every one of my posts is put up for mod approval, even though I'm well past the '1 approved post' restriction. Jmrburgard seems to be suffering the same problem.

    • Meadbeard likes this
Add a single post to the Forums to clear the mod approval hang up. I added a thread up there if you just want to respond to it, but surely this is the issue ... At least there was a consensus ;)
    • bozfoogle likes this

Done. Thanks, mate.

Photo
AdorablePython
Aug 27 2015 05:47 PM

When revealing the second/third copy from your hand, is that card going faceup or -down into archives?

When revealing the second/third copy from your hand, is that card going faceup or -down into archives?

 

By revealing, you showed it to the Runner; ergo, face-up into Archives.

    • AdorablePython likes this
Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Sep 30 2015 09:09 AM

If the runner boosted an icebreaker to break the ICE and then I use the Twins, does the breaker remain boosted for the second encounter or do they have to boost it again?

If the runner boosted an icebreaker to break the ICE and then I use the Twins, does the breaker remain boosted for the second encounter or do they have to boost it again?

 

The ICE was passed (i.e. it is no longer being encountered), then encountered again. The breakers must be boosted again.

    • KillerShrike likes this
Photo
KillerShrike
Sep 30 2015 06:29 PM

Breaker strength boosts are per encounter with a piece of ice, unless an individual icebreaker or other effect explicitly says a boost is retained for the entire run.

 

For instance, Battering Ram retains it's strength for the remainder of the run. There are a few other ice breakers that have this trait, and thus their strength boost from themselves lasts until the runner jacks out or the run is declared successful. 

 

Battering Ram

Type: Program: Icebreaker - Fracter 
Cost: 5 Memory Units: 2 
Faction: Runner Shaper 
Faction Cost: 2 
2 [Credits]: Break up to 2 barrier subroutines.
1 [Credits]: +1 strength for the remainder of this run. 
"It's called 'brute-forcing' and it's just as effective today as it was a hundred years ago." - Kate "Mac" McCaffrey 
Strength: 3 

 

A strength boost that lasted for the entire turn such as the boost granted by trashing The Helpful AI would also, obviously, remain in effect on the second encounter with the ice via Twins.

 

The Helpful AI

Type: Resource: Connection - Link - Virtual 
Cost: 2 
Faction: Runner Shaper 
Faction Cost: 2 
+1 [Link]
[Trash]: Choose an icebreaker. That icebreaker has +2 strength until the end of the turn


Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.