Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Casting Call



Casting Call

Casting Call


Type: Operation: Condition
Cost: 0
Faction: Corp NBN
Faction Cost: 2
Install an agenda from HQ faceup and install Casting Call on that agenda as a hosted condition counter with the text “Whenever the Runner accesses this agenda, he or she takes 2 tags.”
We have a part we think youd be perfect for.
Set: Old Hollywood Number: 96 Quantity:
Illustrator: Smirtouille
Recent Decks Using This Card:
No decks currently use this card.
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


20 Comments

Possible good times with NAPD Contract or Fetal AI to make them really expensive . . .

 

Strongbox may work well here too, especially stacked in the server: "whoops, you're out of time, well, at least you have some tags for your trouble."

 

It's Film-Critic proof.

No, it isn't. Film Critic makes it so that you are no longer accessing the agenda. 

    • AdorablePython likes this
Photo
KillerShrike
Aug 07 2015 07:34 AM

I like it from a game design standpoint. Success at a cost. But I have a feeling runner decks will start including more tag shaking tech once the NBN big box rolls out, and it would really suck to waste card slots on this, and a click to install it, just to watch a runner laughingly steal the agenda and shake the tags off on the cheap.

    • Kitescreech likes this
Photo
gamblingworld
Aug 07 2015 03:38 PM

I think with film critic you do still go through an access phase, just no steal phase. So this should still fire right?

 

Whenever you access an agenda, you may host that agenda on Film Critic (the agenda is no longer being accessed and is uninstalled)'

Isn't this Film Critic proof? Don't they have to access it at least originally to move it to FC?

Photo
AdorablePython
Aug 07 2015 04:24 PM

Since it's the runner's turn, he may choose the order in which those effects are resolved. By using Film Critic first, the Agenda is no longer accessed and therefore Casting Call doesn't work, because its requirement is not met anymore.

Photo
KillerShrike
Aug 07 2015 04:25 PM

No, it isn't. Film Critic makes it so that you are no longer accessing the agenda. 

 

He means the tagging effect still hits even if the runner uses FC. And FC is a resource, so unless the runner shakes the tags before end of turn, the corp can trash the FC on their subsequent turn which presumably puts the agenda into archives.

    • Meadbeard likes this

No, it isn't. Film Critic makes it so that you are no longer accessing the agenda. 

 

Sigh . . .

 

Text from Film Critic: "Whenever you access an agenda, you may host that agenda on Film Critic."

 

Text from Casting Call "Whenever the Runner accesses this agenda, he or she takes 2 tags."

 

Film critic stops the "steal," turning it into an "add." It has nothing to do with access.

 

The bit on Film Critic where it says the agenda is no longer being accessed after it is being hosted is immaterial, thus the "no longer" part; i.e. you were accessing it and now you are not, since you are hosting it. The access happens first. If it weren't an access, Film Critic would state "reveal" or "look at," then "host." Have a look at Keyhole to see what avoiding an access altogether looks like.

 

Timing priority has no effect here. The Runner accessed, hosted, and was then no longer considered to be accessing. The trigger condition for Casting Call was met. Apply the tags.

    • apcud7 and KillerShrike like this
Photo
AdorablePython
Aug 07 2015 09:41 PM

Okay, now I'm confused. Isn't it the same with Femme and Tollbooth, where you can avoid the "when encountered, pay 3 credits" effect because of timing priority? Why does it apply there and not here? It follows the same principle of shutting down an effect requirement by using the timing priority. So either it would work here too, or you have to pay 3 credits for Tollbooth, even if you skip it. Besides, the text on Film Critic ("is no longer being accessed") is there for a reason, I suppose.

 

Am I missing something?

Okay, now I'm confused. Isn't it the same with Femme and Tollbooth, where you can avoid the "when encountered, pay 3 credits" effect because of timing priority? Why does it apply there and not here? It follows the same principle of shutting down an effect requirement by using the timing priority. So either it would work here too, or you have to pay 3 credits for Tollbooth, even if you skip it. Besides, the text on Film Critic ("is no longer being accessed") is there for a reason, I suppose.

 

Am I missing something?

 

Bypassing ICE is a specific situation that counters everything on the ICE bypassed. It works like a prevent effect.

 

Nothing here states that the access never happened. It just states that it stops happening once you host the agenda. The trigger condition has been met, so it must go off (it's not even optional). The text here further says "whenever," it is accessed. If this were not the case, you could sidestep Casting Call with Doppelganger runs or with Comet by playing Run Events (since you would be "no longer" accessing an Agenda by the time the second run resolved).

 

The text that turns off the access is important because otherwise all kinds of nonsense can occur, including switching a card hosted on Film Critic to another copy of Film Critic. The Runner is holding the card: is he or she still accessing it? No. Did he or she access it? Yes. Timing Priority resolves "simultaneous" events. The access happened before the hosting and the non-access.

 

The wording has nothing to do with avoiding the initial access trigger; non-access looks like Keyhole, not this. Event chains do not disregard prior conditional triggers.

    • AdorablePython likes this
Photo
AdorablePython
Aug 07 2015 11:16 PM

Okay, thanks! One learns something new every day.

 

Back to the original topic then. This card should be nice in conjunction with Weyland's public agendas. The downside of Casting Call is eliminated, because those agendas are installed faceup anyway.

    • Meadbeard likes this

Hmmm. Okay, thanks. One learns something new every day.

 

Oh hey, that's just my argument. FFG can rule otherwise. If they do it the wrong way, they'll break a bunch of stuff and cause huge problems. (The card is active during the trigger, but what if they decide it's no longer active once it's hosted on a hosted card, and that that somehow translates back to the trigger? There are many ways to make this thing not fit).

 

I have no actual authority.

Sigh . . .

 

Text from Film Critic: "Whenever you access an agenda, you may host that agenda on Film Critic."

 

Text from Casting Call "Whenever the Runner accesses this agenda, he or she takes 2 tags."

 

Film critic stops the "steal," turning it into an "add." It has nothing to do with access.

 

The bit on Film Critic where it says the agenda is no longer being accessed after it is being hosted is immaterial, thus the "no longer" part; i.e. you were accessing it and now you are not, since you are hosting it. The access happens first. If it weren't an access, Film Critic would state "reveal" or "look at," then "host." Have a look at Keyhole to see what avoiding an access altogether looks like.

 

Timing priority has no effect here. The Runner accessed, hosted, and was then no longer considered to be accessing. The trigger condition for Casting Call was met. Apply the tags.

 

So Film Critic doesn't avoid the penalties of any of the NBN trap agendas then? Those trigger on access, not on steal...

In fact...I dont think so.

 

"Simultaneous Effects", page 22, from the rules in the web:

 

"When one or more abilities have the same timing trigger or can be triggered at the same time, each player chooses the order his own abilities trigger. A player can trigger an optional conditional ability before a required conditional ability if they both have the same trigger condition."

 

And then goes on with the example in which you can use Aesop to trash Wyldside, thus not loosing the click from Wyldside.

 

The "You are not longer accesing the agenda" means that yes, you can acces a "Casting Called" agenda, host it before the tagger trigger, and thus you are no longer accesing, the Corp can't use the Casting Call trigger.

 

The "whenever" argument, I think it is just to stabilish that it is a conditional ability (page 21), where it says "Trigger conditions commonly use the terms "when" or "whenever". If after hosting a Casting Called agenda on a Film Critic, the Casting Call COULD still be triggered, then when you use an Aesop with a Wyldside you SHOULD still loose the Click. Same argument.

 

Thus...no Future Perfect psi game...no Casting Call, etc. That is my theory ;)

 

Sorry if I killed English, a long time not writing it ^^

    • KillerShrike and AdorablePython like this
"each player chooses the order his OWN abilities trigger." Neither way is convincing with Film Critic. Ask FFG?
Photo
KillerShrike
Aug 22 2015 04:33 PM

Film Critic

Type: Resource: Connection 
Cost: 1 
Faction: Runner Shaper 
Faction Cost: 1 
Film Critic can host a single agenda. 
Whenever you access an agenda, you may host that agenda on Film Critic (the agenda is no longer being accessed and is uninstalled).
[Click] , [Click] : Add an agenda hosted on Film Critic to your score area.
 

 

 

Casting Call

Type: Operation: Condition 
Cost: 0 
Faction: Corp NBN 
Faction Cost: 2 
Install an agenda from HQ faceup and install Casting Call on that agenda as a hosted condition counter with the text “Whenever the Runner accesses this agenda, he or she takes 2 tags.” 

 

 

 

There's 2 ways this can play out, and it will require an FFG ruling as the card text is unclear.

 

Either the access happens which triggers Casting Call, then Film Critic works.

 

OR

 

As the runner is the active player and there is no call stack in A:NR, the runner's entire effect completely resolves, then the corporation effect resolves.

 

 

The "WHENEVER" text of Casting Call seems like a trigger to me, and Film Critic doesn't stop the initial access, so I think Casting Call does trigger. But...has Lukas ruled on this? That's the only way to end this argument.

I think you have bolded the excerpts quite well - "Whenever you access an/this agenda" is present in both cards and this should be a simultaneous effect, so the person whose turn it is (the Runner, unless you are doing some An Offer You Can't Refuse trickery) can resolve his effects first, so he can trigger his "whenever" condition first, thus the accessing is turned off for the second "whenever" check, which won't happen anyway, since it is a condition counter and it will "fall off" once the agenda is uninstalled.

 

This is my interpretation of the rulebook and the way a program code I would have written will execute it. Official ruling on this will be really helpful.

    • KillerShrike and AdorablePython like this

This is a good conversation that demonstrates very clearly that this interaction will need a ruling in the next FAQ.

Photo
PestilentChirs
Aug 24 2015 06:46 PM

When this card is install on the agenda, can you access this card first in order to trash it with Kim or Imp? I'm sure you can't, am I right to think that the card is kind of in some sort of inaccessible limbo once used until the agenda is scored or stolen?

According to the card's text, once it is installed it is no longer considered a card but a 'hosted condition counter'. As Imp can only interact with cards, it would not be able to trash an installed Casting Call.

    • Meadbeard and KillerShrike like this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.